Love it

I finished the boys’ cammo appliqué shirts yesterday. They were really easy to do except I think that the letters are a little big. I can’t wait to try more like this one and to also try some shirts with freezer paper stencils.

First applique shirts!

Here’s a close-up of the stitching around the letters. I didn’t want it to come off and I’ve read that it will fray if you don’t.

Applique stitch close-up

I also finished my pincushion. My fingers are killing me from forcing the needle through this thing and especially from sewing all the little people on. The Japanese figures are from an old pincushion that was Grandma R’s, but I saved them because they were too cute! It’s a little lopsided, but it’s for me so I don’t mind…

Pincushion Little Japanese people

 

 

I’ve been waiting for an excuse to drive out to Fabric Depot and today I finally had a chance after taking Nana home. I only had Olivia with me so I got to take my time and just browse their huge selection of fabric. I finally choose 2 yards each of this and this and one yard of this from Free Spirit. I’m finding that I love Robert Kaufman’s designs- check out his site and try to stop from drooling!

And lastly, thanks to Chris, here’s some good photos to try and make my blog look pretty…


img_0783.jpg

img_0807.jpg

 

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. Oh, you are a clever Mommy. I love the shirts. They are great, and the boys are such cute models.

    Hope you enjoy spring break. We can’t wait for ours next week. Woohoo.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Fini on March 27, 2007 at 2:52 am

    Those came out really cute:) I love the camo letters. Never seen it like that. Where is yours?

    The pincushion is super nice too;)Where do you get the time sister?

    Reply

  3. Oooh, those shirts! Those boys! Those flowers! Cuteness everywhere. Love it all!

    Reply

  4. My boys are “A” and “E”, too! I’ve been wanting to make them shirts like that, too…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

