Details

I’m not good at details. I tend to get rushed and want it to be done. I would love to add a little embroidery, more appliqué, or maybe even some patchwork to many things I sew, but I never take the time. I did a little more than usual with my giveaway wristlet and received some nice comments because of it. I don’t even get my tags added to many things just because it’s another step and I’m too lazy.

Now, take this present I made for Henry who just turned two:

For Henry

I want to add more detail to the crown, but I can’t get myself to do it. I love the way it turned out and was inspired by this mama and this one, who sells amazing ones in her shop (if you don’t want to make you’re own).

There wasn’t a tutorial or anything so I just studied their pictures closely and winged the rest.

Side View

I made my own pattern out of construction paper to figure out the correct size and proportion of things. I used ½” elastic for the back and covered it with a bit of scrap fabric. There is 100% wool felt for the front pieces and a wool blend for the inside piece so it wouldn’t be too itchy.

Back of Crown

I’ve had this ribbon for a long time and was happy to finally have a project to use it. I would like to add more appliques or embroidery like a horse, helicopter, or house…

But I’m done with it. That’s it.

As for the shirt, I’m not sure I like it. The stitching is heavy and the horse is too big. I wanted to be creative and do like two of something that started with H, but again – no go.

Horse Applique detail

Oh well. Baby steps are what I need to focus on. Maybe next time I can take a little more time and do a little more.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Fini on February 22, 2008 at 11:03 am

    The crown is super cute:) WHere did you get the pattern, or did you just winge it?

    Reply

  2. Posted by Fini on February 22, 2008 at 11:07 am

    uh… opps I should of read before I posted so freakin fast huh? No pattern i see…go figure. :)
    I want to make one for me amai…in PINK of course!

    Reply

  3. I think these are adorable. The crown just makes me smile. I wonder if my family would mind if I made and wore a crown each day?

    Reply

  4. I was away all week at a work conference, and when I got home, there was a lovely little parcel waiting there for me. Thank you so much for the CD case you have made. It will be useful.

    Janet McKinney

    Reply

  5. Very cute. It looks like you spend just the right amount of time on the details. Who wants anything too fussy;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

