Dangerous Bread

I’m sure you all have seen or read the many blogs out there who are baking this bread:

5 Minute Artisan Bread

I got a craving yesterday and so I tried it. Since I don’t have the book, I googled 5 Minute Artisan Bread recipe and went to town.

There’s only 4 ingredients: water, salt, yeast and flour. It was easy throwing everything in one bowl, mixing it with a spoon, covering and letting it sit on the counter overnight. This morning, I pulled off a chunk, shaped it and stuck it in the oven for 20 minutes. I didn’t have a peel or stone or whatever the original recipe called for, but read that Angry Chicken just used cast iron. We always have our 8 inch and 12 inch pans seasoned and ready to go so I floured the 8 inch pan, put in the dough and stuck it in the oven over a rack that had a pan with hot water in it. (On a side note, I sure hope you’re still not using teflon-coated pans! Really, people you MUST STOP.) Anyway, so I made a loaf for us and one for my neighbor. She was so impressed and in fact so was I.

Must Touch

The bread is good. I think I may have to go out and get the book as well as the peel or stone because I think I will be making this alot! (Actually, as I type this I have a new whole wheat batch that I just started sitting on my kitchen counter. I will report back on how it turned out with the whole wheat.)

So if you need a carbo kick on this rainy day, get in the kitchen and whip up a batch.  Yes, it’s that easy and very dangerous because you will want it all the time!

4 responses to this post.

  1. I’m always intimidated by the prospect of making bread – but there are so few ingredients, I’ve got to give this a shot for the bread eating kids in my house.

    Reply

  2. Fresh baked bread is the way to go. I love the No Knead bread recipe from the New York times, and have a breadmaker. Good bread is one of my very favorite foods. I can feel my mouth watering right now.

    Reply

  3. Thanks for posting this. It encouraged me to try it out. I made up a batch last night and baked a very small loaf for lunch. Yummy and oh so easy. I even put a pic of it on my blog. Keep up the good work, you inspire me.

    Reply

  4. Thank you for the link!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

