Fall Flavors

Around here Fall = Mushrooms!

Mommy's Porcini

This one is mine.  I found this beauty and two others while heading out of Fort Stevens the other day.  I actually spotted them from the car.  I love porcini’s just for that reason.  They grow in meadows, brush and under trees.  They are picture-perfect.

We also went for chanterelles a few weeks ago and brought home a bunch.  Ms O was totally into it.

Gathering

She had so much fun.  We even initiated one of Augie’s little school buddies.  I still think his mom never cooked them up and thinks we’re a little weird because we were so excited by our bounty, but that’s okay.

Overall, I think people are afraid of mushrooms.  You really do have to be careful of what you find, but a little research is all it takes to bring home $14.99/lb flavor for free!  If you’d like to start hunting for your own, I highly recommend these books.  The author, David Arora is a little freaky, but funny.  Our copies are well worn and purchased several times over because we’ve left them in the field many times.

Tonight I’m making this and I can’t wait.  Hopefully, I’ll stay within my points today so I can have a little extra at dinner.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Ack! I am concentrating on the sweet faces and not the mushrooms!! I do have to say though, finding anything good for free is right-o in my book.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Lori on October 22, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    SO – how are you points going for you? I haven’t asked since we talked about it in the summer! Hopefully well, as you are still counting! Have you been able to cut your hair yet?? You crack me up!! Miss you lots!!

    Lori

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

