Sleeveless

I’ve decided that I’m not sewing sleeves anymore.

Sundress #4

And I’ve acquired a new addiction: sundresses.

Sundress #1

And as you can see, Ms O loves to wear them.  I’ve made 5 dresses in 3 days.  I think I may continue making one a day until there’s a nice collection.

Sundresses #2 & 3

For the pattern, I used Sandi Henderson’s Portabellopixie Claire pattern.

Okay Sandi, how in the heck are you making any money off these patterns?

For $16, you just about get a book!  There’s TWENTY pages in the pattern.  There are colored illustrations, photos and pages of instructions  She teaches you how to make bias tape & piping, how to shirr and two ways to gather.  The pattern back shows 4 dress options, but really that’s just the beginning.  You could make umpteen dress combination’s with her awesome instructions.

Sundress #1

All that said, I only made the petal knot dress without the apron and knot.  I love the proportions of the band width, amount of gather and the simple lined bodice.  These dresses fit Ms O perfectly and she looks too darn cute in it.

They Twirl!

Each dress takes very little time without those darn sleeves.  I’d rather sew on buttons and make buttonholes any day than sew a sleeve.  I’m tired of the hemming, gathering and easing in to fit a sleeve.  It takes way too long.

Free-Motion

Although, I did make this Burda dress again, but you know how much I love this dress.  I will make sleeves for something this cute.  All in moderation I say.

Easter Dress

It was supposed to be for Easter, but you know how that goes.

Easter Dress

I would love to buy yards and yards of this Moda Wonderland line, but have to make due with what I have.  (Worse case scenario is now the best case for LO schools and I’m sure PP schools are in deeper trouble.)  The great thing about these dresses is that you can use different little pieces of fabric so there’s not large single cuts of fabric needed.  I need stash busting projects and I’m sure you all could use it too.  :)

8 responses to this post.

  1. LOOOOOOOOOOOVE them all! I have to say the blue story book looking one is my favorite:)

    Reply

  2. The dresses are so cute! Ms. O looks divine in them! I’m going to have to check out that pattern.
    -Kathy

    Reply

  3. Posted by gabrien on April 22, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    I have Sandi’s ruffle pants pattern which is also very well written with great pictures. You can borrow if you like. D won’t wear the ruffle pants I’ve made but I’m trying not to give up. Doesn’t the Claire also have an underdress option that is kinda like a peasant top only longer?

    Reply

  4. You are so right about the sleeves!
    I love sundresses too. I also made one that’s slightly similar to this one.

    Reply

  5. Thanks for the pattern recommedation and inspiration. What a little cutie-pie!

    Reply

  6. Good pattern. I used to make a lot of frocks for my daughter when she was small. Now she is 14 and I miss all those stuff. She doesnt want any frocks … So please enjoy your time!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  7. She is gorgeous. Simply gorgeous.

    Reply

  8. Oh those are cute. I try to keep my daughter out of dresses (she scratches the eczema on her legs too much, even when she barely has any) , but those look so sweet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

