Tiny

Newborns are so tiny!  Without their onesies, sleepers and blankets swaddling them, there’s nothing to them. No fat, very little hair and a teeny voice. So quickly you forget all these things.  Then your 7 year old holds one and you just about loose it right then and there.

Eliana's Quilt

This quilt was made for one such tiny girl who were were so lucky to finally meet today. Welcome Eli!

Back

I don’t know about this quilt.  The colors are too muted, everything blends together and the binding is boring. I did have a ton of fun making it though.

Up Close of Free Motion Quilting

I decided that stippling or meandering is addictive.  I can’t wait to do it again. I feel artistic when I’m doing it.  I feel free and creative.  No lines to follow.  You can go fast or slow- whatever works best for you.

This is my first quilt using the technique of free motion quilting.  I love this video. I do have to warn you- this method uses a ton of thread!  I loaded 4 bobbins for this 45″ square quilt and I used every one of them.  Maybe as I get better with more practice, I may learn to use less.  I am going to get my thread here from now on.  It’s just too expensive otherwise and I can never remember to get it during those dumb “sales”.

Baby Quilt

Moving on. I have another baby quilt to make and of course my skirt so I better get my tush off the Mac and to the sewing table!

Oh, before I forget, here are the specifics:

1.) Quilt is a made of cotton with Warm and White for batting and flannel for the back.

2.) Free Motion Quilting (FMQ) is really a piece of cake once you remember to:

a.) Go at a consistent speed.  Too fast and you’ll skip stitches.  Too slow and you’ll get a knot of thread.

b.) Load tons of bobbins.

c.) Lower feed dogs and use darning foot.  FMQ is not possible without these two!

d.) Use a sharp needle!

3.) I used my Singer 15-91 for the quilting and I loved it.  I tried using my other machines, but Stella was so smooth, fast and her bobbin holds a ton.

4.) I used Amy Butler’s free Lotus Brick Path Quilt Pattern which can be found here.

5.) My rectangles were the same as in the pattern: 4½ x 7 ½.  I have 11 rows and each row had 7 rectangles= 77 total rectangles of 9 different fabrics.

6.) Nine different fabrics weren’t enough.  Should have used 12.  It was too hard to vary the pattern.

7.) Should have used sashing between the rows or a border or something.  Pattern was muted.

8.) Used my ½” bias tape maker for the binding and machine stitched it on- both front and back.  Should have did it by hand and made my binding a little wider.  (2½ inches like she suggests.)

The End!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Muted isn’t a bad thing. I think it’s pretty! It’s funny….everyone (including myself) who tried free motion quilting seems to be surprised at how fun it is. I know I wasn’t expecting to enjoy it so much!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Christine on July 29, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    Love it! Thanks for all the detailed information. I finally have a sewing machine where I can try FMQ and I am planning on trying it soon. Your tips will be helpful.

    Reply

  3. I think it’s lovely. It doesn’t look too muted to me.

    Reply

  4. Posted by fini on August 1, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    OMG this is so nice! I want one for myself!!

    Reply

  5. thanx for this post and the fantastic skirt pattern link.
    I am XL loud and proud as well.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Sarah on August 4, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    LOVE the blanket, you’re so talented! I feel like I say that every time I comment, but really I’m so impressed with everything you do!

    Reply

  7. It’s beautiful. I love the muted colours – it reminds me of the way a picnic blanket can look all multi-coloured when the sun’s rays shone through the trees onto it. Does that make any sense?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

