I’m Three

My blog that is. I hit my blog’s anniversary again on March 13th and like every year, I totally forgot about it. I should like mark it on my calendar as a reoccurring event huh? Maybe I won’t miss it.

My Favorite

Anyway, I do have a couple things I made recently from free tutorials. Goodness, I love those free tutorials. It’s how I discovered the world of blogs way back when I started. I wanted to make a zippered pouch. I typed in how to make a zippered pouch or something like that. Low & behold- I was directed to some blogs and Flickr. Who knew?

There were sewers out there. They were hip, crafty and were even stay at home mamas! They made stuff for their kids, homes, friends and they had gobs of cool fabric… Fabric! Not material as it has always been called in my family. There were designers and patterns that were modern.

She's Happy

Anyway, you all know this so I won’t go on and on like I usually do.

Ms Designer

This is Ms O’s dress. We call it her project runway dress because she basically made all the decisions about it. She picked the pattern, fabric and of course, the rows of chiffon.

Chiffon Ruffle

The pattern is actually a free online tutorial for a shirt, but we just made it longer into a dress. It’s the Ruffle Sleeve Top Tutorial. I love this! So easy and it turns out so cute. The chiffon is some leftover from the pettiskirts. I just made a super long ruffle and went around the bottom of the dress cutting the ruffle at the end of each row and moving on to the next row until she told me to stop. I would love to make her something like this Can-Can skirt someday soon- I love ruffles!

Hairkerchief

I also made some hairkerchiefs from JCasa’s free tutorial. The tutorial says to cut a 7.5″ square to make one, but you may need to go up or down to fit your child’s head. Ms O is a small 4 and I made mine from a 10″ square. It fits perfectly.

Hairkerchief

She wears it quite often and they stay on nicely as well.

Reversible

To cap it off, I will celebrate like I’ve always done and will make a little something. I’ll try to whip it out sometime soon so stick around!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tracy on March 31, 2010 at 1:01 am

    I remember feeling exactly the same way when I started looking up tutorials and found all the awesome blogs (yours included!) and beautiful fabrics :)

    Reply

  2. Congratulations on your 3rd anniversary!
    Your story about the discovery of the sewing crafting blog world is pretty much the same as mine. Your blog was the first I followed and from it I found so many other great bloggers and ideas. I think it is wonderful you allowed your daughter to design her own dress. My mother always let me pick my fabric and I do the same for my daughter (especially if I want her to ever wear it). It lets them know they have good ideas worth hearing and carrying out.
    Oh ya, when did material become fabric?

    Reply

  3. Happy anniversary! Your daughter has quite the eye for design – I hate to think what my daughter might come up with if left to her own devices. You should see the things she points out in stores…

    Reply

  4. That little dress looks fantastic! And isn’t Miss O just the cutest little model?! I just made Chloe the smocked sundress from Weekend Sewing and am feeling pretty confident – this one looks so fun I think it might be next. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

