Child Labor

Child Labor

One of Augie’s Aunties is always commenting that our kids are child laborers. I would take offense to it, but it’s so far from the truth. Today, as my boy was watching the garbage man, he said, “Mommy, the grass it getting a little long. I think I’ll mow it again.” Well, sure if you insist sweetie!

Since we have summer’s together as a family, (and bought a house with a JUNGLE in the backyard) most of the months are spent working out in it. I have pictures of Augie about 1 1/2 standing on stumps and helping Dad clear branches. There’s some of Eddie scooting across a muddy path with dirt in his mouth. And I’m sure I will get similar shots of Livvie “helping” with the garden this summer.

Eddie's Lavendar

img_0931.jpg

Every year they get to choose plants for the garden and each boy has their own shovel for the countless holes that “need” to be dug. In my experience, they just like to be involved in what you do. Kids WANT to spend time with their parents! Sometimes I forget that and think more stuff is what they need. I need to remember to stop and just play with them. And hey, if they think “playing” is digging out yet another stump or excavating the millionth rock then so be it!

One response to this post.

  1. I love it. You are raising some great kids there. I think it is so important to teach kids that they are members of the family, not to be served constantly, but to contribute too.

    Embrace the help while they are young. *They* say it is the key.

    And it is fun too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

