Still Trying

I made this skirt yesterday:

My first skirt

As you can see, I need to take a class. It seems like I don’t know alot of the basics, i.e hemming, bands and just getting something to fit! This darn thing took me ALL DAY to make. I wasted a ton of fabric and it still doesn’t seem to fall right when I wear it:

First skirt for me!


It has a zipper on the side and a rounded hem, but it looks funny. I’m just happy I used fabric that was $1.99/yrd! Maybe, I’ll try a class this summer…

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Fini on April 24, 2007 at 9:03 pm

    what are you talking about? I think it looks great! I love the fabric & color;)

    Reply

  2. Looks good to me…and I’ve sewed for over 20 years! You’ll always be your worst critic…and if you start looking carefully at stuff made in the stores, it is not 100% perfect either (well, unless it’s really good stuff…that cost lots of $$). 🙂

    Keep trying – you’re doing great!

    Reply

  3. don’t give up. you learn by trying. btw, i think it looks pretty good. as the previous comment noted, the stuff in the stores is *far* from perfect. one never stops learning how to sew.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

