Busy Bees

img_1460.jpg

We’ve been busy around here:

img_1449.jpg img_1448.jpg

Augie transplanted some mushrooms so they wouldn’t get buried under some excavated dirt. He was so careful with them. It was fun watching him gently take each one and “plant” them again in a special spot. We’re heading up to Central Oregon tomorrow, and the boys can’t wait to hunt for Morels. I hope we’re not too early…

sandbox.jpg img_1538.jpg

It was Ms O’s first time in our sandbox today. She was hesitant at first, but unlike her brothers, she buried herself in there quickly.

I’ve been busy as well:

img_1520.jpg img_1516.jpg

I sewed my first bag! I like it even though I wasn’t sure of the fabric. It holds my camera, wallet, a sippy cup and a couple Star Was action figures- perfect.

Mary had bought a bag/purse pattern the other day and I wanted to try it out. After completing the basic form, I thought it was ugly so I started over and drew my own pattern. It’s U-shaped with a lining and even a pocket! I thought of what I wanted/needed and just went with it. The quilted shoulder strap started out as a wide 4″ band with the outer fabric on one side and lining fabric on the other. But after trying it out, it was too wide and looked funny. Since I had already sewn it together, I folded the sides in and sewed 4 parallel lines to keep it flat and stiff. This bag is also my first button hole. I had to rip it out a couple times since my ($35 Estate Sale) sewing machine couldn’t really handle the thick fabric layers AND compressed zig zag stitch at the same time. I finally got it looking as neat as I could so I call it done!

img_1477.jpg img_1494.jpg

I also finished skirts for Ms O and I. I submitted it to this month’s Skirt Sew-A-Long. Mine is just a simple straight skirt with Moda fabric. It has a side zipper and a very basic twill tape waist. Livvie’s is a 3-tier skirt also with Moda fabric. I used Kuky’s tutorial, but man, this was a little complicated! While trying to gather the fabric, my thread broke, the gathers were so not even, and my seams very crooked. But, you know, after she has it on, all that doesn’t matter. I love it and will sew another.

I will be taking a Blog break for the rest of the week since the kids and I will be at Black Butte. Hopefully I can stay away from Sisters so I won’t be tempted by this store to buy more fabric…

We hope you all have a great week and wish us luck on our Hunt!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Holly on May 8, 2007 at 8:16 pm

    Your purse is great I like the fabric a lot! And the skirt too! Perfect 🙂

    Reply

  2. Hey! Have a great trip, and happy belated birthday as well.

    See you soon.

    Reply

  3. Yes…happy late birthday and happy vacationing too! 🙂

    See you soon…
    Lori

    Reply

  4. Posted by Fini on May 10, 2007 at 7:16 am

    All the projects look so good. I love love that purse;) The fabric is super cute! Cant wait till Amai and Livvie kick the big boys out of the sandbox this summer! Hope your having fun in BB…

    Reply

  5. […] first are skirts for her and Eleni. I had made a tiered skirt for Ms O using Kuky’s Tutorial, but wanted to use a new pattern I bought to see if it was […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

