Sew Simple

I haven’t been doing much inside so have not made anything to really post about. I did want to post what I made out of the thrifted curtain:

Floor Pillow

This Floor/Study Pillow was easy to make and I even added a handle for easy carrying since it’s huge. I made this for my neighbor’s daughter who is graduating this weekend and will be going to my alma mater in the fall. The colors just make me smile! I also made her a simple drawstring laundry bag:

Laundry Bag

Simple gifts, but ones that I remember using alot while in college.

The last project I want to show is something I’ve been wanting to sew ever since we bought our new car:

CD holder It Fits!

A little CD holder sewn out of some colorful Moda fat quarters I got for $7. It took me a couple hours to put together because I was making it up as I went. I knew that I wanted it to hold about 6 CDs (there’s 3 slots on each side), and it needed to fit in a specific slot in the car’s dash. Now, there’s no more loose CDs sliding around getting scratched AND it’s cute to boot! Handmade is better than store bought any day. 🙂

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Fini on May 29, 2007 at 6:13 am

    Love the CD case!!
    You should make a tutorial on that! Its so cute.

    Reply

  2. The cd case is very cute!!! I was drawn to the college gifts and I would love to go back to school with those pretty items. You gave me some ideas for a few graduates from church. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Dorothy on May 31, 2007 at 7:00 am

    I think your CD case is a WINNER! Soooo, have you seen CD cases like this IN the store? … think you should go into manufacuring!

    Reply

  4. Posted by mommiemarzie on June 9, 2007 at 8:04 pm

    The CD case is awesome! How did you do it??? You definitely need to do a tutorial. Pretty please!

    Reply

  5. Second the call for a CD wallet tutorial – really great idea!

    Reply

  6. I would make half a dozen CD wallets with this pattern for all the loose CDs I have at home, in my office, in the car… I can’t find anything I like to buy, but this is just what I was looking for.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Nicole on December 31, 2010 at 4:07 am

    Just found this old thread when searching “fabric CD holders” online…Irene, I know it’s been awhile since you posted this, but I need about about five fabric CD holders for a project I’m doing…ideally with 2 slots rather than 6. Any chance you would you be interested in making these for me? I would be happy to pay you for supplies and your time. Thanks!

    Reply

  8. Posted by Nicole on December 31, 2010 at 4:08 am

    Sorry, forgot to click the button so I’d be notified if you commented back to me. Doing that now. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

