Almost

Summer is almost here and right now is a hard time of year for this family. Daddy is gone all day and most of the evening trying to wrap up the year for his students, dealing with kids who are tired of school, and parents who don’t get it. I’m tired of taking care of kids all day and night mostly by myself. (I have NO IDEA how single parents do it!) Augie and Eddie are tired of being home with mom and don’t think they should go to bed when it’s still light outside. We just have to hang in there for one more week, then SUMMER! Daddy is home, kids have Mommy all to themselves, sleeping in, staying up and out of the house until late, visits to Papa and Auntie Mary’s, beach trips, mountain drives, and berries, berries, berries!

We’ve already harvested strawberries, snap peas and radishes out of our garden and can’t wait for the beets, beans, blueberries, apples, pears and plums. Augie had a little “Radish Sale” in the kitchen yesterday thinking he was so grown up cutting and slicing up the little things and lining them up for sale. Eddie decided that they were too “picy” for him so wouldn’t give Augie any “monies”. Livvie spat them right out and ran scooted over to her sippy faster than I’ve ever seen her move. Liam didn’t think anyone ate those things so he wasn’t game which left me to eat them and scrounge for pennies. (For me: coffee + radishes = nasty heartburn, eeew!)

I had my own little sale on Craigslist the other day. One of the things I sold was my old sewing machine and the best part was that I sold it for $45 which is $10 more than what I bought it for 5 years ago! This left me with cash so of course, off I went to spend it:

New Books!

Not very exciting for some of you, but for me, it’s wonderful. I’ve been trying to get these at our library, but I was low on the Hold list for both. I decided with that amount of Holds, they must be good. I dove into the skirts book right away and made this yesterday:

Amy Butler Skirt

I’ve had this fabric forever and have been wanting to use it for something so I finally decided to cut into it. I drafted my own pattern for an elastic waist skirt using instructions from the book and added a trim of contrasting fabric from the same line of Heather Bailey’s Fresh Cut fabric. At first, I thought, crap! should have made an apron out of it. Chris thought the colors were nasty, but after I put it on with an outfit, it doesn’t look apron-ish anymore. In fact, I think it looks like the perfect Girl’s Night skirt. What do you think girls?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by fini on June 8, 2007 at 1:19 am

    I love it! I especially like the style of it…simple eslastic wasit band with the perfect length! Can you make me one now?

    Reply

  2. Love it – can’t wait to see it tonight! You are quite the sewer these days!

    See you soon!
    Lori

    Reply

  3. The skirt is so cute! So I guess that book must be worth it. I think I’ll ask for it for my B-day!! And I agree, I don’t know how single parents do it. I’m in awe because it takes so much effort my Joe and me and we’ve only got two kids!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

