New Kicks

Baby got new kicks:

New Kicks

I made these using Stardust Shoes’ tutorial. They were easy and pretty fast to sew together. I used Minkie on the inside so they are super soft as well. I followed her pattern, but added about 1/2″ for Ms O’s 12 month feet. Also, since I used Minkie which tends to fray, I made button holes for the elastic to thread through on the top of the shoe and also sewed the sides of the heel together. These are great and don’t fall off. Livvie liked them too since they stayed on for hours! The only problem that I can see is that I used felt for the soles. The tutorial calls for bonded suede, but I couldn’t find it at JoAnn’s so I picked felt since it wasn’t as slippery feeling as fleece:

New Kicks

BAD choice. Livvie scooted across the grass once with them and it seems like they picked up every blade in our yard! Then, when I tried to pull the grass out of the felt, it started to come apart. My next pair will be out of fleece or if I make it out to the Depot, I should be able to find some there. The boys want “slippers” too so I get to make some for all the kids. Yay!

I’ve been sewing like crazy the last two nights because I have to say good-bye to my sewing machine and really, my whole “studio” for three days. We’re having some people over this weekend so I have to break-down the studio so my dining room can be a dining room again. I’m going to miss sewing since it’s become such a big part of my “Mommy Time”. I’ve heard that those around me are excited to have a clean house, cooked meals and maybe even folded laundry again…. whatever! πŸ™‚

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by fini on June 22, 2007 at 10:26 am

    That little chubster!! How cute;)

    Reply

  2. Cute! We have wood floors, and I was always concerned about my boys slipping. One trick to DIY some treads on the bottom of those shoes is to write her name (or draw something) in puff paint. She’ll still pick up every blade in the grass, but at least she won’t slip when she’s indoors πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Love them! Can’t wait to see you guys on Sunday…even if your “studio” is gone for the event!

    Have a great day!
    Lori

    Reply

  4. very cute shoes! minky lined….how decadent. πŸ™‚

    teri

    Reply

  5. how precious is that girlie in her new gorgeous dress!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

