Sewing Love

It’s finally back- my sewing “studio” that is. It’s been put away since our big shindig the other day and we haven’t been around enough for me to set it back up again. I warned everyone yesterday though, that I was taking the sewing machine back out again. I quickly got to work last night and whipped these up just in time to wear one for the 4th:

4th of July Skirt

Pink Bird Skirt

These are both out of my pattern I drafted using my Sew What! Skirts book. They have an elastic waist with a cuff at the bottom. I’ve sewed the other skirts together first then added the “cuff”, but with these two I added the cuff first then sewed the skirts together. I wasn’t sure how you’re “supposed” to do it, but found this way to be easier. The first is fabric from Denyse Schmidt’s Katie Jump Rope line with some thrifted cotton fabric for the cuff. The second skirt is from some fabric I bought at Stitchin’ Post last week. I loved this fabric when I first saw it and knew that I wanted to make a skirt with it. I bought the right amount and even splurged and got the coordinating fabric for the cuff.

Close-up of Skirt Fabric Sparrows Skirt

I think these will become a huge part of my summer wardrobe and will be worn ALOT because I love these fabrics so much. More sewing to come… yay!

Oh, and I almost forgot… here’s our new toy:
Our New Toy!

With two Mac’s in the house now, Chris and I don’t have to fight over a computer anymore. Although no work is getting done, we’re having fun taking this baby around the house and deck while still being able to surf the net (and blog, blog, blog 🙂 ). And to top it all off, we also got a video ipod for next to nothing. My music and blog are now portable- loooove it!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Funny. I bought both of those fabrics to make skirts, although the Dewberry print I got was another colorway. Thanks! Now I know what they’ll look like. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by fini on July 9, 2007 at 1:13 am

    Those are SUPER cute! Cant decide which is my fav?!? The fabric almost looks like linen.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

