Cherry Pickin’

Here’s what 40 pounds of Rainer cherries look like:

Rainer Cherries

The kids and I drove out to White Salmon yesterday and picked these beauties. It was a gorgeous day to drive through the Gorge and the kids all had a great time. The trees were small and loaded with cherries so it didn’t even take me that long to pick. Augie picked over 5 pounds all on his own, but Eddie and Olivia probably ate that much while we were up there. Chris and I pitted them last night and already have them in the freezer to keep them nice and fresh. I didn’t freeze Augie’s because he wants to make himself a pie. I have no idea what I’m going to do with all of them, but they are so sweet and tasty on their own that they may not get a chance to be made into something else!

It was a good thing we went picking yesterday because today it’s supposed to hit 102! Good thing the pool was set up last week:

Cooling Down

Chris and Augie couldn’t stay out of it while it was filling up and had to see who could dunk their head in first.  I think Augie won since he was all the way in whereas Daddy was a little chicken.  With this heat, everyone will be getting in today.

Happy Summer!

5 responses to this post.

  1. YUMMY! WOW! LOVELY LOOKING! You could can some? They go great on cheesecakes! Good for pies, tarts, dried fruit leather!!!! The list goes on! Have fun! You can even wash, dry and freeze some!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kathy on July 10, 2007 at 11:30 pm

    Those cherries look delicious! I’ve never tried Ranier cherries. I almost picked some up at the fruit stand today. I’ll have to pick some up tomorrow.

    Reply

  3. Wow, 40 pounds. We had a bad cherry year in our area (we only really get sour cherries) so we only got 10 pounds. You must have been pitting forever.

    Reply

  4. Those Rainier cherries look divine. I snagged a bunch at the farmer’s market, but maybe I should head over to pick some too. After it cools down, of course. They are my favorite.

    Crazy hot day.

    Reply

  5. Posted by fini on July 13, 2007 at 12:02 am

    TRY and save some for us! I just finished our 1/2LB box. I think it cost a fortune at costco…so worth it! YUMMMY

    Reply

Leave a Reply

