What Is Thaaat?

What Is It?

It’s my new purse of course! It looks scary on the inside, but turned out well once it was all put together:

Linen Purse

I didn’t use a pattern which is probably why the inside is such a mess. I had a terrible time trying to match up everything at the top corners of the bag where it meets the strap.

Side-View

There was all the piping to deal with, the inside lining, the outside, and the strap. My sewing machine could barely make it through all the layers. It’s not what I wanted, but it’s fine.

Outside of Bag

The outside is made of black linen that I had intended to make another shirt with, but I really wanted a black, linen bag so I used it. The other fabric is Amy Butler’s Lotus Collection which is really beautiful fabric. I love the blue with the dark black. I quilted it a little, but wanted to do more. I made the piping using the floral fabric and was surprised how easy it was to do. (FYI- when the instructions tell you to cut on the bias- do it. I found out if you don’t, the piping wrinkles- look closely: messy messy. I didn’t have enough fabric to cut on the bias so I just cut my strips vertically. Now I know.)

Inside of Purse

There’s only one large pocket on the inside with more piping at the top with the black linen. I used a magnetic snap for the first time which I like and will use again.

So in the end, I barely made it for Sew Mama Sew’s bag month, but it’s done!  I’m a happy mama.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Cute bag!!! I’m so jealous that you finished it since I haven’t finished mine. Oh well. Good luck in the Sew, Mama, Sew contest!

    Reply

  2. I love it! Really beautiful bag all the better because you did it without a pattern:-)

    Reply

  3. Posted by Fini on July 23, 2007 at 11:39 pm

    I think you need to give that one to me:) It is my colors you know! Its so very cute:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

