I Love My Sewing Machine

I haven’t blogged much about my new sewing machine, but those around me hear me say the above phrase just about every day. And I really do! I was able to whip these two outfits for a special little girl in less than two hours:
Birthday Present

Really- it took me minutes to do these appliqué’s. With my old machine, it was almost impossible to get even stitching and especially hard to control the stitch speed around curves. My new baby can be controlled very easily AND it stops with the needle down if I want. If you are looking for a new machine and are a relatively new sewer, I think the needle down function is a MUST. It helps keep everything in place while you get to move the fabric around those tight curves and corners. You don’t end up with gaps in your stitches where you started and stopped stitching. Now my appliqué’s still aren’t the neatest, but they are better:
Appliqued #3 Appliqued

Little Ms M had a “Sprinkler” Birthday party this weekend which the boys and I went to while taking a break from our garage sale. It was a busy weekend, but we made some money, met some characters, and the best part- got stuff out of my basement! Yipeeeee.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Sewing, sprinklers, decluttering…sounds you had a great weekend. 🙂 The outfits are quite cute.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Fini on August 14, 2007 at 3:15 am

    very cute outfits! Cant decide which I like better…who for?

    Reply

  3. cuteness!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Lori on August 15, 2007 at 2:51 am

    Very cute! Yes, a good sewing machine is a must when doing detailed work. I just got a new one this year, after the same pink portable one I got in 7th grade (20 years ago). But it worked well too, and now getting handed down to Lexi (my Mom is going to teach her!).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

