Necessity

I made this outfit the night before we left for our recent trip:

Funeral Outfit

I wasn’t sure if I was going to post it because it was worn for a funeral, but I loved it so much I wanted to share it.

The entire outfit was made in about 3 hours. If you have been around my blog much, you have seen many versions of this skirt. It really is such a comfortable skirt and the shirt is the same. I knew that it would be close to 100 degrees where we were heading and we were taking the kids. I needed something to fit right and wear well while wrestling 3 kids in a church. This outfit did it! The shirt and the skirt cuff is made out of black linen and here’s a closer look at the skirt fabric:

Close-up of Skirt

I bought all the fabric at the Depot for under $30. Not bad, eh? And it’s something I can wear again and hopefully not to another funeral. I really need a break from those things for a while.

And oh- I know it’s several sizes larger and you have to squint hard, but I think it looks alot like the Fall Fashion African Kelli has been browsing. I guess I’m ready for next season’s fashion!

(By the way, the shirt is the Built By Wendy pattern #3835 that lots of others are making as well. And the skirt is my own pattern made from  the Sew What! Skirts book. Go out and get yourself one if you don’t have it. It has wonderful advice and plain instructions that even I can follow.)

3 responses to this post.

  1. I like your shirt! I want to make myself one in a dark color, too. I’m having a dying party tomorrow and am going to significantly darken some solid yellow fabric I bought accidentally and use it for one of those shirts.

    I’m sorry to hear you’ve had a string of funerals to attend. I hope that’s the end of it.

    Reply

  2. very cute skirt. it would look great with a bright colored top. and a black top…well, i can never have too many of those in my wardrobe.

    teri

    Reply

  3. […] the end, I took in about 2 inches and now love the fit. My favorite shirt pattern has now become my favorite dress pattern. Hey, I may even have time to sew Ms O’s […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

