Too Fast

I remember this little guy so clearly:

August Michael

But today, I sent him off to school:

Ready To Go

Where did the days go?! It’s all too fast for me, and he will always be my baby. I know it’s just Kindergarten and he’s gone for less than three hours, but still! I thought I’d cry, breakdown and meltdown this morning, but I held it together. Augie was his usual confident self. He got up with the alarm, made his bed, got dressed, ate breakfast and was ready before I could shed a tear. I followed him out the front door smiling at his strut with his new mommy-made backpack.

Mommy Made Backpack

I thought that if I had to send him off every day, I wanted him to have a little something from me to take with him. Augie picked out the fabric and size, but everything else was of my design. It took me about a week to make, but it was worth it.

Homemade Backpack

The outside is red and tan corduroy and the inside lining is the same ol’ camo fabric that I’ve used before. It has his initials and an appliquéd triceratop on the front, lots of padding on the back panel and straps for all the stuff he’ll be hauling, and even adjustable nylon straps for the perfect fit. Augie’s favorite though is the inside pocket with 2 slots just for pencils. Everything except for the strap buckle was made from thrifted and garage sale materials or was given to me so this bag cost me less than $5 to make.

Camo Linning Inside Pocket with Pencil Holder

Now Eddie wants one too, but I told him that Mommy gets to keep him home for two more years before I have to make another. I just hope the days don’t fly by too fast!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Aw, I sympathize! I love the backpack! I wish I had that kind of sewing talent. Maybe by the time my second one heads off to kindergarten next year…I did make him a messenger bag for preschool, but it really wasn’t complicated.

    Did Augie have to ride a bus? Seeing little kids get on a bus chokes me up, sometimes! Especially when it’s my little kid who’s now a big 2nd grader. Too fast, indeed.

    Reply

  2. What a great milestone! And what a great knapsack for your little guy to keep his treasures in!

    Reply

  3. What a dapper dude. He looks so confident and ready. And who wouldn’t be with a personalized backpack?

    Hope the first day went well for all of you.

    Reply

  4. Time does indeed fly by way too fast. He was an adorable baby and is now an adorable little boy. I love his backpack–it’s perfect.

    Reply

  5. Posted by mommiemarzie on September 11, 2007 at 4:05 pm

    I’m feeling it too! It’s hard to send that first one off to Kindergarten. Hope things go well for the rest of you while he’s off learning. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Very cute…I had been looking at your site waiting for a picture of Mr. Augie going to school. He looks ready and excited to go! Yeah! I remember that day he was born too…and then I had Caden in that same hospital room a little over three years later. How time does fly!

    Thanks for sharing!
    Lori

    Reply

  7. […] size of these was important. Remember Augie’s Kindergarten backpack? That thing is a pain to get things in and out of! These were going to fit everything including […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

