Expecto Patronum!

Look what I finished today in the nick of time:

Harry Potter Robes

They are now ready to cast spells, defeat trolls and dodge dragons. The outer fabric is wool suiting and the lining is broadcloth. I used a kid’s Simplicity pattern for wizard robes, but changed it so much that I wouldn’t really suggest it. I used this tutorial which was easy to follow and very detailed. The wool was a little stretchy so it was hard keeping everything in line, but hey, they’re just costumes!

Before I found the tutorial site, I was having a hard time trying to figure out how to make a pointed hood. I’ve only made square or rounded hoods, so this one was tough. After seeing the adjustments and modifying my pattern, the hoods came together easily and flowed well with the rest of the robe:

Another View

And I was even able to add wand pockets:

Wand Pockets

The boys have been wearing these off and on since the beginning without arms, hoods or pockets. Now that they are finished, I can’t get the robes off. They’re already stained with jelly, markers and dirt.

Now if I can only get this one is keep hers ON:

Sad Littl' Monster

She probably doesn’t like it because it wasn’t specially made by mama 😉 , but wait… where did she go:

Monster On The Loose

Oh, that’s right- she’s fleeing from the most powerful wizards of all time:

Expecto Patronum!

Happy Halloween Everyone!

6 responses to this post.

  1. How adorable!!! You did a great job!

    Reply

  2. They look great. (And Ms. O looks mighty comfy and warm.)

    Have a spooky, fun time.

    Reply

  3. You are so cool! Those are pretty cool wizard robes! I wouldn’t be taking it off either! And I love the picture of Ms O running away. Hope you all have a good Halloween!!!

    Reply

  4. The costumes are wonderful–congratulations for getting them done in time. I hope Halloween brings your family lots of fun and laughter.

    Reply

  5. Very cool! Love your photo description “she’s fleeing from the most powerful wizards of all time”. Ha ha ha!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Kris Shea on September 10, 2013 at 5:41 am

    I am starting my adventure in making Harry Potter robes for my 3 little wizards. Yours look great! The link for the tutorial you used isn’t taking me to a tutorial though. Could you direct me?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

