Copy-Cat Cap

I did it again- I went and copied another beloved object to try and improve on it. This time it was a train hat.

My boys have had these hats for several years now and when I washed one, I shrunk it so much that it didn’t fit either kid anymore. I thought this was a great excuse to take it apart, figure out how it’s made and replicate it. Sounds easy, huh? I also had an upcoming birthday for a little one who attends a French Immersion school. I thought that if I made the hat out of wool, it would be perfect for him. I was aiming for something sort-a like this little guy’s hat– (scroll down to view.)

I set off Friday night to make this thinking it would be pretty straight forward. And for the most part it was, but thank goodness I had the other, still together hat, to reference or else I don’t think I could of pulled it off:

Train Cap Revisited

I really, really love this cap and will be making more for the boys and one for Dad. Doesn’t Eddie need one for himself?

Eddie and the Cap

There are only 4 pieces and it takes very little fabric so I splurged with the more expensive wool knowing that I wanted to make more for my family. The hardest part of the whole thing was getting the right fit. I made Augie stay up way past his bedtime so that I could use his head for testing. I had used the small hat for my pattern pieces and it was for a 1st grader so I initially added 2 inches to all the pieces. Well that was overkill! In the end, I don’t think I had to add anything because the wool I used stretches more than the original canvas material. So after some trimming and many adjustments (thank goodness for basting stitches!), I got the fit I wanted and even let Augie go to bed. 😉

Honestly, don’t you think every kid needs one of these?!

(Please let me know if you’re interested in a tutorial and I’ll work on it!)

*Update- the “Eddie Cap” tutorial is done!  Please click on the tab at the very top of my blog just under the Header image.  Thanks for all the encouragement!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Great job – I’d certainly be interested in a tutorial.

    Reply

  2. It looks awesome on him. You are so lucky to have a willing little model!

    Reply

  3. Oh! Please do a tutorial! I’ve got 3 nephew’s to make hats like that for.

    Reply

  4. I am so excited to hear you are going to do a tutorial for this!! I have at least a half a dozen people I want to make one for! Thank you-it’s gorgeous…

    Reply

  5. Posted by Ann on November 23, 2007 at 7:38 pm

    I love your hat! I would definitely be interested in a tutorial.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Eva on November 24, 2007 at 8:34 am

    Me too, me too!

    Reply

  7. […] the oldest child, I made another Eddie Cap which I finished this morning to be given away this […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

