It’s Up

We decorated this morning. After seeing so many Advent Calendar’s out there, I was really missing mine. Now before you scroll down to see the picture, know that this was made two years ago when I couldn’t sew a straight line to save my soul. It’s loosely based on a very loved one that my MIL has and that I’ve admired for years. I sat down and tried my hardest to copy hers, but came up with my own version:

My Advent Calendar

No, the picture is not crooked.

It’s the calendar.

This thing is *seriously* off kilter, but let’s just call it good. It’s about 22″ x 36″ and made entirely out of felt (crappy felt, because I didn’t know there was any other kind!) The numbers are just glued on to the pockets and we use straight pins for sticking the figures on the tree.

The kids were fighting over who gets to see what’s in today’s pocket and so far on the tree we have the a star (that’s always gotto go first, eh?), a train and a razor clam “gun”. The rest of the pockets contain everything from presents, little animals, everyone’s initial, fruit, and of course Santa and Baby Jesus.

IMG_4604.JPG

Since we are catholic, our calendar goes to Epiphany. We also have the four advent candles with tiny felt “flames” to be put up with each week as well. So all in all, it’s a very thorough calendar. Maybe someday I’ll make another, but I don’t think I’ll ever get rid of this one since it already has so many wonderful memories.

Another decoration I wanted to share are these teeny paper doll ornaments I found in Chris’ Grandma’s stuff years ago while sorting through boxes after a move. Everyone wanted me to toss them, but I couldn’t bare to throw out these mini little people.

Paper Doll Ornaments

I’ve never put them up before, but I found the perfect spot this year so out they came after I think many, many years in a box. (For the picture, they are in my kitchen on the “snack table”, but really they are displayed in my living room on a picture frame shelf. It’s too dark and rainy today to get in a decent photo in that part of the house.)

I’m so excited to see them out! Each doll has a hand drawn face and it looks like they just used a pencil. They stand less than 3″ tall and have pipe cleaner arms, but I can’t figure out what their faces are made with… maybe paper-maché?

Close-up

On the bottom of each one, it’s just stamped “Japan”, but it looks like they were all riped off of something else that was paper. I wonder where she got them from? Grandma passed away this summer so it’s nice to finally get these out and remember her.

She was a Lady. Yep, that’s with a capital “L”.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Oooh I love the advent calendar! I’m thinking about making one for next year. Well actually I was thinking this year but the hubby said Isabelle is too young. That works for me. No pressure of a deadline looming. Well not until next year. When it’s all up can we see a picture? I’d love to see what’s in all the pockets. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Those little ornaments have spun cotton faces.

    They are generally from the 1950’s and pretty collectible. It’s a good thing you didn’t toss them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

