Repeat

As I’ve mentioned, I’ve been whipping out presents. For some, I’m not going to spoil the surprise and post pictures yet. Let’s just say that my fingers and back are sore from repetitive cutting, ironing, stuffing and sewing- about 45 times worth! Doing the same thing over and over and over again can be relaxing in a way, but it sure is nice when you’re done and you can move on to something else:

Little Girly Purses

I can tell you about these little gifts since they are for people who don’t usually read my blog. These little purses are fun to make and are from a “It’s So Easy” Simplicity pattern #3857. I’ve made them several times before, and I still love it. (I guess that’s why I keep finding ways to make it again.) The things I love are 1.) the darts, which give the purse such a nice shape and 2.) the overall dimension of the purse body and handle.

Inside lining

I lined both, but used a button for one and a magnetic snap for the other. It’s the perfect little purse for a 2 to 4 year old. My boys are “dying” for me to make them one since they’ve seen these several times now. Of course, theirs will have to be out of camo or pirates or something along those lines.

I also made a wristlet for the first time:

First Wristlet!

Now, this little thing took me WAY too long. I was even using different tutorials to try and figure out the best way to make it. I started off using this tutorial, but then didn’t like the way the zipper was inserted. I found this one which seemed better, but found out later that it wasn’t specific enough for my sewing ability. (Although, I have to add that the little 1″ tabs sewn to zipper before sewing it onto your bag is a MUST. It helps to minimize any gaps at either end of your zipper. No other tutorial had this step so I’m really glad I saw the suggestion in this one.) In the end, I liked this one the best for it’s step-by-step instructions and loads of pictures.

Since I really like the shape of the little purses above, I used the same pattern, but trimmed an inch off the top. The final size is 8½” x 5″ with a 11″ wrist strap. After sewing, turning, swearing, ripping, swearing, sewing, turning, pressing, turning, ripping and sewing some more, I finally finished my first wristlet.

Then I went on and made two more, but gave one away before I could take a picture:

Repeat!

It gets easier and faster with each one so it gives me confidence in my sewing. And who doesn’t need a little boost every so often? So I can’t stop at one. I must Repeat!

7 responses to this post.

  1. Sewing…it’s a funny hobby…one that can be so rewarding, but so frustrating too (when directions are complete, etc..). Very cute…I agree that I like to make something over and over again too, once I’ve got it figured out. Looks like your grumpy stage is over…that’s good!

    Take care and Merry Christmas!
    Lori

    Reply

  2. Sewing…it’s a funny hobby…one that can be so rewarding, but so frustrating too (when directions are complete, etc..). Very cute…I agree that I like to make something over and over again too, once I’ve got it figured out. Looks like your grumpy stage is over…that’s good!

    Take care and Merry Christmas!
    Lori

    Reply

  3. Posted by mommiemarzie on December 18, 2007 at 5:26 pm

    “After sewing, turning, swearing, ripping, swearing, sewing, turning, pressing, turning, ripping and sewing some more, I finally finished my first wristlet.” LOL 🙂 I’m there with you! Isn’t it fun to get addicted to sewing something? There just isnt’ enough time in the day to get it all done! And I love your fabric choices–so fun and vibrant!

    Reply

  4. […] Can you guess what it is? This was one of the Christmas presents I made for my kids as well as all the cousins. It’s what I was writing about here. […]

    Reply

  5. Posted by Stacey on April 15, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    I love your wristlet! How did you come up with the shape? It’s adorable. My daughter would love one of those. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Ah! You link to me and these wristlets are sewn better than anything I’ve created!
    How did you get those rounded bottoms (ha!) to your wristlets? I’d love it if you’d share the info.
    Thank you! (This site is so fab.)

    Reply

  7. […] allow me to make her one. She finally gave in and let me practice. I followed some links from Irene’s blog about making this triangle make up bag. I had to enlarge it a bit which sort of backfired on me […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

