Easy Peesy

I did it! The last of the non-family presents were finished and given yesterday:

Fabric Wall Boards Wall Board #2

These wall boards were super easy to make. I bought the cork boards at Ikea for $4.99 each, thumb tacks for .99 ¢, cover buttons for $2.99 and everything else was fabric from my stash.

I started off using Craft Apple‘s great tutorial, but then made everything else up as I went along since these were going to be much bigger. Chris removed the wood frame and glued fiber board onto the back of each one so that the staples would stick. (Otherwise, if you try to staple onto the cork board, the staples easily pop out.)

The first step was to fuse the lightweight double-sided interfacing onto the cork with an iron. I then sewed the top pocket onto the denim background fabric. Then, I ironed the denim onto the cork board to hold it in place. I flipped the board over, pulled everything tight and stapled the fabric in place with a staple gun. I then took my large lower pocket and stapled it on the back as well. (I didn’t put any seams in this large pocket since I wanted one large pocket and no separation.) Using a hot glue-gun, I stuck the back felt piece on and Chris nailed on the teeth things for easy hanging.

The back of the wall board

Done!

The buttons took me less than an hour to do (while watching TV) and I just followed the directions on the back of the package along with this tutorial.

Fabric Covered Tacks

Finished, the upper pocket is about 9½ x 6½ inches and the bottom pocket is 6 inches tall. Each can hold a regular piece of paper. The board itself is about 18 x 24 inches and can hold alot of stuff. I plan on making another for my sister and one for me. Yep- something for ME. Isn’t that crazy?

Oh, and did you see my new little button to the right —>
My little Eddie Cap made it on Whip Up. Cool!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by fini on December 22, 2007 at 2:40 am

    I have been wanting to make one for a long time! Those are super cute. Now I really want to start one.

    Reply

  2. Nice work! I bet they will be well loved.

    Reply

  3. Let me guess? There are other family presents lurking…

    (Our Mom was always making stuff.)

    Reply

  4. Those are awesome! You have nice fabric in your stash. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

