Heart Day

When Nana and I picked up lunch the other day, Eddie got a special surprise just in time for Valentines:

Eddie and his Heart Nugget

Augie wanted one too, but no such luck. He did bring home a bag full of treats from school today so I don’t feel so bad.

I haven’t gotten anything together yet for Valentines Day. Chris surprised me with a gift last night A DAY EARLY! Really, THIS IS A BIG DEAL and it deserves all those capitals. He made a special trip to Costco and braved the lines for a case of my favorite: S. Pellegrino mineral water. Man, I love that stuff. I can drink bottles a day. I was so moved that I actually cried. Yikes. Tears for mineral water. How sad is that?

So for my kids, I just got some cute little Jelly Belly heart things at Target and I plan on writing out some cards later. (I also got one for Chris so I’m the loser this year.) I’ll make it up to them next year.

I’ve been too busy lately with that typing job (which is actually going good and I’m really enjoying reading it as I go) and Grandpa’s quilt. It took Chris and I hours, but we finally arranged the squares to where we like it:

Bento Quilt Getting There

The pattern was no help to me when it got to the colors and combinations. Chris and I basically moved things around until we got it to where the similar colored squares were not touching. At that point, we didn’t care if some did not match.

If you didn’t know, Chris is color blind in the reds, greens and browns so this was a true challenge. We finally got the squares to where we liked it and it took about 2 hours to sew the 16 larger squares. (Each of the 16 large squares is made up of 4 smaller squares which is then made up of 5 pieces.) The quilt is going faster than I expected and my seams are matching up pretty well. Tonight I gotta get the whole top sewn together because Grandpa Augie’s and my son Augie’s birthday party is coming up on the 23rd!

I need to plan out my sewing better. I seems like I’m always trying to make a deadline.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Fini on February 15, 2008 at 12:54 am

    That is so cool! A heart nugget! Im going to tell you again…I love that quilt. Cant wait to see it done:)

    Reply

  2. Isn’t it funny how a simple gift – a favorite drink – can be so moving? That was sweet. Hope you had a good day.

    Reply

  3. Posted by paperseed on February 15, 2008 at 4:02 am

    That quilt really looks good. Bold and graphic.

    Reply

  4. Posted by mommiemarzie on February 15, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    The quilt is looking good! It can be so frustrating trying to get the blocks all set and make it work.

    Reply

  5. I love your quilt top. That’s the sort of pattern and color combinations I could stare at endlessly finding new patterns.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

