Beautiful Bento

My Bento Box Quilt

I love this quilt.

I Love the Puckers

I loved making it: a simple and fast pattern. Although I didn’t like the color-coordinating-trying-to-make-it-all-work part, it was still fun.

Flannel Back for Bento Quilt

I loved quilting it: again simple and fast since I followed the squares and “stitched in the ditch” as it’s called. This is really my first real quilt. I’ve sewn blankets/quilts before, but I have never taken the time and quilted so much. I usually just do a couple lines or outline a couple squares. With this quilt, I stitched every square and it really looked much better because of it. I love my walking foot and know that I couldn’t of done this job without it. So if you’re thinking of quilting, seriously, spend the dough (mine was about $35 for my Janome machine) and invest in one.

Ms O Loved It Too

But most of all, I loved giving it away:

Grandpa Augie and His Quilt

After the party as we were pulling into the driveway, I told Chris that I missed my quilt.

Maybe I need to make another…

Hint for Fini- get me your dimensions so I can make your Christmas present before next Christmas!

Now for some quilt details that most may find boring:

1. This is a lap size quilt, a 60′ square. It’s a perfect size for snuggling on the couch.

2. I used 11 different colors: 5 light and 6 dark. I bought ½ yrd for each color, but ended up using less. The pattern calls for 20 fat quarters (10 light and 10 dark) for this size. You won’t use all of it.
3. For the backing, I only used 3½ yards of flannel whereas the pattern calls for 5 yards. Mine was made up of 3 pieces which may be the reason why I didn’t need as much fabric. I also didn’t make my binding as a separate piece. I cut and sewed my backing so that it was about 3 inches bigger all around than the quilt top. Then to bind it, I simply wrapped it around to the front of the quilt and machine stitched it in place. I will never do this again though. It turned out very messy so I will be doing a separate binding from now on.

4. With my colors, I made 8 different 2-color squares. Of these 8, 4 have the dark color in the middle of the square and 4 have the lighter color in the middle of the square.

5. It takes 4 small squares to make up one large square. My quilt had a total of 16 large squares which is made up of 64 small squares.

5. The biggest color mistake I made was that for a couple colors (yellow, sea green and light blue), I used them in two of the 8 color-combo squares. For example, I had one color-comb0 square of yellow and grass green, then I used the same yellow for another combination- yellow and dark blue. I think this was why we had such a hard time trying to lay out the squares so that no two squares with like colors were touching. Next time, I’ll make 8 color-combo squares of totally different colors.

Okay, that it. Those are the boring quilt details I wanted to share. This is the stuff I like to know so I thought I’d pass it on. Let me know if you have any questions.

7 responses to this post.

  1. So simple but yet so very beautiful! Well done!

    Reply

  2. I just followed the link here from the Sew Mama Sew photo pool. The pictures are beautiful. How very generous of you to give away your first quilt…that would be so hard. Maybe someday I’ll make a quilt but in the meantime, I’ll drool over beautiful works of art like yours!

    Jody

    Reply

  3. Thanks for the tidbit on fabric combos… Though I think that I will use Kona Snow in all of my blocks… I saw one on flickr that did that & I love it.

    Reply

  4. I would miss it too. Wonderful quilt!

    Reply

  5. Posted by paperseed on February 27, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    Cozy! And what a cute shot of the little one wrapped up in it.

    Reply

  6. Posted by mommiemarzie on February 28, 2008 at 12:31 am

    It turned out fabulous! Your machine quilting is excellent. Even doing stitch in the ditch I get a little of track. And walking feet are wonderous things.
    -Kathy

    Reply

  7. Posted by Fini on February 28, 2008 at 8:43 am

    I cant wait for you to make mine. I know I will measure soon. Hill keeps asking me too. Maybe tonight! Since you do want to make another!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

