Catch-Up & Curry

I’ve been playing catch-up with everything that last couple days.

I spent Friday typing and met again with my memoir writer. I’ve got 100 pages done and at least another 100 to go. He’s got a great story.

On Saturday, the boys and I went to get new shoes for Augie. Found out that Eddie needed shoes as well since I had him in tens and he actually should be in twelves. TWELVES! Both had to get matching shoes. I love it.

Sunday was spent trying to make a *good* curry chicken. I think I got it down so here’s my recipe:

1 whole chicken
3 tablespoons oil
1 onion chopped
8 cloves crushed garlic
6 Cardamom whole seed pods
1 tsp fenugreek seeds
1 tsp dry mustard
1 heaped teaspoon Tumeric powder
½ – ¾ cup curry powder, depending on how spicy you want it
10-12 curry leaves, chopped
1 cinnamon stick
2 tsp grated ginger
2 cups boiled water

optional:
3-4 medium potatoes, peeled and cubbed
salt to taste

First, chop up your chicken and take as much skin off as possible. (I leave in all the bones, but you can debone if you like.) Set aside. Chop up onion and add to large pot with hot oil. After a couple minutes, add crushed garlic. Stir and cook for another couple minutes on med-hi heat being careful not to burn to garlic. In a another bowl take the Cardamom seeds out the pods and crush. To this bowl add the fenugreek seeds, mustard, tumeric and curry and stir to combine. Add the spice mixture to the pot along with 1 cup of water and cook about 5 minutes stirring well until combined. Add chopped chicken, another cup of water, grated ginger, chopped curry leaves, cinnamon stick and potatoes- if desired. Give it a good stir, turn heat down to medium and let it boil for 30 minutes until chicken is fully cooked. Do not cover pot because you want to mixture to boil down and thicken. Serve hot with rice and a cucumber-tomato salad.

We had this last night and Augie had two bowls. Eddie and Olivia thought it was too spicy, but I thought it was just right. Try it and let me know how it goes.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by seemommysew on March 6, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    That sounds so yummy! I think I’m going to have to try that this weekend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

