Now I Can…

Ummm. Yeah, make bibs, and yeah, put like snaps in purses and stuff and …

Old Snap Press

Really, I have no idea what the heck I’m going to do with this thing, but it does work. I put a couple snaps in. Well, Chris did since there wasn’t any instructions and I don’t have the time or patience to sit and figure something out. It works well, much better than one like this that I picked up from a thrift store. (Don’t ever buy this plier kind! There’s not enough pressure to put a snap in right.) If you’re looking, I’ve heard that these are the best and you can even buy specific dies to insert plastic snaps into things. How cool would that be?!

I bought this one from Max who I found on Craigslist. Max is a great guy with a garage full of stuff that he’s trying to get rid of before they move. Poor guy. I could tell that he didn’t want to let any of it go, but $25 cash was exchanged and I got my snap press.

Now, if I can only get sewing and make something with it before Chris teases me for yet another Craigslist purchase that’s never used.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Just from looking at the picture it looks like some torture device! But so cool. If I did snaps very often I’d want one too.

    Reply

  2. It just looks sturdy and cool to play with. I’m sure, knowing you, you’ll put it to good use.

    Reply

  3. […] people, it’s another Craigslist purchase. I love rescuing old things and giving them a purpose again. I mean, really- why buy new when […]

    Reply

  4. […] to 18 months.  Aren’t you not supposed to have string around a baby?  I wanted to use my snap press, but the part that you push down into the snaps is the wrong size.  I tried to find a die that […]

    Reply

  5. Posted by Crafter on March 6, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    I think what you have there is a button press and not a snap press. there is a company called Fasnap in Indiana that sells dies, snaps, grommets etc. punches and the machines. Im sure they can help you.

    I was looking for a snap press myself but the only thing I found was a button press which was cool but not enough leverage.

    Good luck.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

