It’s What We Eat

I know that this is mainly a sewing blog, but really I haven’t been doing much of it lately due to my typing work. (The book is almost done. I only have 3 more chapters to type. Woohoo!)

I made my sister Mary 6 cloth grocery bags out of some more IKEA fabric. (You can’t beat their price or durability.) Yes, she now owes me big time, but I’m happy knowing that she’ll be using (and reusing!) my bags instead of adding more plastic to places like this.

I did more sewing yesterday trying to make cloth easter eggs and tried this wonderful idea, but stuffed eggs require hand stitching. I can’t do that to save my soul so that project didn’t make it far. I even tried to enlarge an egg pattern to see if a bigger egg would be easier to stitch. I wanted to make my kids and all the cousins one large egg with their name hand embroidered on them, but the first one I made turned into a mushy, squished, lopsided ball. UGLY. I gave it to Eleni anyway and she’s declared that it’s a ball for her doll. Great.

Did you know that you can’t just keep enlarging a pattern to the size you want even if it’s a simple pattern like an egg? Chris warned me about this when I was making all the kids’ slippers for Christmas, but I figured that it’s just an egg and what could go wrong. It turns out that you can’t simply enlarge and if you do, everything must be to proportion or else it turns out wacky.

So I’ve got another idea for Easter, but since it’s only a couple days away and I’ve still got 57 pages to type before Saturday, it’ll be a simple one. I’ll post it soon…

In the meantime, here’s what we’ve been eating:

Eats

Starting at the top, we have some chocolate shortbread mushrooms, a favorite Uwajimaya treat around here. (Ms O is sticking just to the chocolate and leaves the nubs for me.)

Next, whole wheat waffles with Daddy’s homemade blackberry syrup. This was last night’s dinner- Yummy!

Thirdly, we have the whole wheat artisan bread I promised to report about. What can I say? It was good, nutty and filling, but man, that white bread still rocks!

And lastly, tonight’s bedtime snack- steamed artichokes with your choice of butter or mayo for dipping. These were meant to go with dinner, of course, but since they take forever to steam, they weren’t done until 8pm. Bedtime snack it was and it was GOOD. (Yes, my kids really love these. Augie saw them while grocery shopping today and begged me to get them. I know I was a bad mom at first not allowing him to buy something that was $2 each, but we’re on a budget. So yes, he did have to beg for them! But really I think it’s the fun of scrapping the flesh from the leaves with your teeth. Even though Ms O and Eddie have trouble, they eat up what Daddy can get off for them.)

There you go, our eats so far this week. Tomorrow I’ll be on my own since I can’t stand duck!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Can you share the bread recipe? It looks fabulous.

    Reply

  2. Funny, my kids love artichokes also, but few other green vegetables are touched. Maybe because they are slightly sweet? Your bread is beautiful; I want a slice now!!

    Reply

  3. I can’t believe your kids will eat artichokes! My kids won’t even try them when my husband and I cook them. What good kids you have! And those waffles look delish!
    -Kathy

    Reply

  4. Posted by paperseed on March 24, 2008 at 5:06 am

    Funny, but I just steamed my first artichokes a couple days ago. We rarely eat them and when we do they are out of a can. Trader Joe’s had a package of cute baby artichokes and I had to look up online to see how to prepare and cook them. Yum! Looking forward to trying the full-size versions.

    Also, I just picked up more fabric at Ikea yesterday to make a tote with. I like that fabric you chose for the ones you did back in November!

    Reply

  5. Oh I love artichokes too. Sometimes I find them on sale at the grocery store for a buck each and will eat a giant one for dinner.

    But a friend clued me in a few years ago to the microwave. Rinse the artichoke and then trim the sharp ends with kitchen scissors. Then just stick it in a glass dish and cover with plastic wrap. Microwave for 4-7 mins depending on how big it is. So fast and easy! You’ll never take the time to steam it on the stove again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

