Snowfort #2 (Written by Chris)

This is the fort I (Chris) built the kids over President’s Day Weekend. It took two-four hour days of shoveling and packing the 12 inch deep snow. It has an j-shaped entrance tunnel, three rooms that were 3 feet by 8 feet each, a turret with crenelations and merlons. (I had to look that up) I eventually added two small stoarge areas and an air hole. The roof varies from 30 to 40 inches in height.

Augie and I spent a 24° F night in the fort. It worked out pretty well, we stayed dry and warm. He slept soundly the entire night. I of course worried about cave-ins, coyotes, and having to help someone with a subzero pee break, so I tossed and turned a bit.

The next day, some kids and their parents were walking by as I was doing some interior touch-up work. Augie invited them in. Before I knew it- we had 10 kids, myself, and two visiting parents all inside. We were comfortable but a little cramped. Thats when I decided to add the turret and the third bedroom, you really never know when you may have unexpected company and need the extra space.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Fini on April 2, 2008 at 8:39 am

    My goodness thats a cool fort, and video to boot! I love the video! Cant believe you slept in it. For a second I thought it was irene and then saw it was you crazy! Pretty cool though.

    Reply

  2. So ficken cool! I want to do that someday.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Judy on April 8, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    This is incredible. I remember a ‘fort’ that was just a cave in the pile by our driveway. I’m sending the link to my hubby – he will definitely want to do this for our baby when he is bigger (and if the Navy sends us somewhere with some decent snow.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

