She’s Stylin’

Hey Fini-

These are for you!

More Cloth Grocery Bags

Sorry they’re like *weeks* late, but HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Yes, I still have more presents to sew, but I’ve been lazy.

For the rest of you, these are cloth grocery bags but really they could be used for anything. I’ve used mine for zoo & beach trips, for clothes & toys, and for just about anything that I would normally grab a plastic bag for. The best use is for groceries. It’s nice to have something sturdy, totally stuff-able, and has easy carry handles. I have five of these myself, but only made Fini four. I didn’t buy enough fabric so could only make four plus this little cutie for me. The fabric is Alexander Henry and is the heavier home decor cotton. Fini likes the bright stuff so I thought this would be perfect for her.

Perfect Size!

Here’s a little on the bag’s specifications:

– They are cut from a 20 x 40 inch panel.
– The straps are 1.5 x 26 inches.
There are 2.5 inch guessets.
– I used french seams for the sides of the bag for a neat and clean finish. (Still no serger!)
– There’s a 1.5 inch hem at the top where the straps are tucked into.

That’s it. Really simple to sew-up and totally worth it. Yes, you need to make some and be stylin’ at the grocery store with us!

OR- you can buy some

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Fini on April 12, 2008 at 12:35 am

    Super Cool!! I LOVE the colors and the fabric! Perfect. Thank you…cant wait to get them:)

    Reply

  2. Love them! I keep telling myself I need to make me some grocery bags. Like every time I go to the store I think this.
    -Kathy

    Reply

  3. Posted by paperseed on April 13, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    We’ve been making cloth bags recently too (I just need to get around to writing a post)! These are very fun and bright. Love ’em.

    Reply

  4. The bags look good and seem easy enough to sew. Will try to sew one for my mom, I’m sure she’ll love it.

    Reply

  5. vEry fine work, just forget my work in my office, such a nice one..

    Reply

  6. Posted by CarmenB on April 15, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    Thanks for the great Mother’s Day gift idea. Now I just have about 20 to make with 5 sisters aunts and female friends. Love them. Thanks again Yeah!!!

    Reply

  7. These are very cute! I need to be more Earth friendly and make some shopping trips. I had never thought of a french seam to finish the sides of my bags before.

    Reply

  8. Posted by plslade on April 15, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    oh my goodness… I LOVE the bags! I SERIOUSLY need to get out my machine and go to town making some of these babies… if they’re that easy! I need some new grocery sacks anyway…

    Reply

  9. These are great bags! I’m struggling with the French seams when making mine, but I’ll get it. I have a serger, so I may try that too.

    Here in northern CA, plastic bags are being banned, so I will be making quite a few bags for our family!

    Reply

  10. love these–great fabric choices!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

