It IS Easy

Feeling spring-y, I made this dress last night:

Spring Dress

It took me almost 4 straight hours of sewing, but it was fun. I used Simplicity 3511 and actually understood most of the pattern’s directions.  The best part of the pattern are the buttons on the back. Although they aren’t really necessary since I can get the dress on and off Ms O without using them, the buttons are too cute to leave out.

Back Button Detail

I haven’t made a square neck in a while and wanted to make a “practice” dress before sewing the dress which Ms O will be wearing to a family wedding in a couple weeks. I thought about making the practice dress out of muslin as most people do, but I knew that if I put all this effort into making something I wanted it to be wearable even if it may be a little off.

I am so picky about my fabric. For this dress, I used fabric from Denyse Schmidt’s Katie Jump Rope line. I had made myself a skirt out of this stuff last year and really like it because it’s light-weight and super soft.

Overall, easy pattern, straight forward and cute finished product. I’ll be making the actual wedding dress today out of this fabric and can’t wait.

And on a different note, have you noticed my new Sew, Mama, Sew! button in the sidebar? I was introduced today as one of the four Editorial Board Members. When Kristin asked if I would be a part of a new planning team, I about fell out of my chair. ME? Of course I would! Since then, we’ve started brainstorming great ideas for next month’s theme and I can’t wait for it to start. I’m always going to SMS blog for their great tutorials, links, and of course, fabric! I hope you will swing by and take a look as well.

19 responses to this post.

  1. Oh my gosh how cute she is – and the dress is just gorgeous! Lovely in fact. 🙂

    Reply

  2. That dress is adorable!!! I love SMS and can’t wait for Women’s Clothing Month to begin!

    Reply

  3. Gorgeous dress – I love the button detail. Congratulations on the SMS board status, too – well done.

    Reply

  4. Oh that is just so cute. I love it!! I especially like when little girls wear colors that aren’t so “girly.” They look so much chic-er. (:

    Reply

  5. That dress is perfect for spring – especially the weather we just had last weekend.

    Congratulations on the board position. How exciting. I think you should compile some of your tutorials and see if you could get a book deal.

    Seriously.

    Reply

  6. Posted by paperseed on April 16, 2008 at 3:03 am

    Holy cow what a perfectly gorgeous little dress! Ms. O is simply precious in it, and I love the chosen fabric. A job well done!

    Reply

  7. Posted by seemommysew on April 16, 2008 at 5:33 am

    What a sweet dress! I know what you mean about muslins. I know I should sometimes, but I think I’d rather possible waste fabric than my time.
    Congrats on the Sew Mama Sew board!

    Reply

  8. That dress is absolutely divine (and so is the little one wearing it). Beautiful marriage of fabric and pattern!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Lee on April 16, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    You’re simply brilliant that’s all.

    I’d still be sewing that dress until my child was engaged and married. God Bless your talent!

    Sew Mama Sew! ~Lovely model too~

    Lee
    http://www.Unlimited.MentorsClub.com

    Reply

  10. The dress is so cute! Ms. O looks lovely in it. What will Ms. O’s wedding dress be made out of?

    Congrats on SMS! I saw it on their site and was so excited for you!!
    -Kathy

    Reply

  11. I was going to make myself a skirt out of that fabric. Maybe, now, I’m make a shirt. It’s so cute!

    Reply

  12. Congrats!! They will benefit for having asked you on board.

    Super cute dress, I love the DS Katie Jump Rope line.

    Reply

  13. Congrats on the board membership for Sew Mama Sew. Thats a great site! The dress is lovely. I”ll have to check back and see what it looks like in the “real” version. The practice turned out excellent. ~jen~

    Reply

  14. Hi, it is me …from “the office” ….congrats on your editorial role….and I’m with you on the muslin making….in fact I am not likely to “practice” usually I just jump in….I did make a wedding dress for a niece a few years ago and made a “mock-up” first and I was glad I did…..did you water your plants today???Ginger

    Reply

  15. I love this dress. I think it’s a great pattern and a wonderful fabric choice.

    And yeah I never make muslin practice dresses when I’m sewing for Isabelle. But for me that’s another story.

    I’ve never once regretted making a muslin for my clothes. That’s because most of them were unwearable and would have been a total waste of fabric. I think that means I need to start sewing more from English patterns instead of Japanese. Ha ha ha! 😀

    Reply

  16. Oh. It’s so lovely. Just adorably super-good!

    Reply

  17. love that little dress!

    Reply

  18. Thanks for posting this dress – I just love it. I probably wouldn’t have glanced twice at the pattern, the cover does not do it justice – they should put your finished project on the package and it would sell out! I bought the pattern and ordered some fabric to make it for my little one too.

    Reply

  19. Posted by Ashley on May 29, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    Cutest dress ever! I am so impressed with your sewing! My mother and I will be teaching ourselves this summer, and I’ll be referring back to your blog for tips! 🙂
    Thanks for writing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

