For Me

I lied. I know I said that I was going to sew Ms O’s wedding dress, but instead I made one for me.

Easy Linen Dress

Nana ended buying Ms O a dress so it wasn’t high on my sewing list anymore. MY dress was next in line and I HAD to make myself something. I tried to find something at the mall, but everything I liked was at least $100. I felt like I could make the dresses myself AND for less money- which usually isn’t often with the cost of fabric these days!

I set about thinking of my dress and I remembered that I had cut out a dress using everyone’s favorite Built by Wendy pattern 3835. I sewed the dress but found that for the wedding, it would have to be out of linen or something nicer than a cotton print.

I bought some decent linen and went to town. It took me an hour and a half to make the basic dress then a little more to add the blue band at the bottom of the dress and for the arms. (Do you see that perfectly matching bias tape on the arms? I made my own bias tape for the first time and it’s just as easy as everyone said it would be!) The dress was done a couple nights ago but I decided to take it in a little because it felt too big.

In the end, I took in about 2 inches and now love the fit. My favorite shirt pattern has now become my favorite dress pattern. Hey, I may even have time to sew Ms O’s dress after all.

BTW- I sewed the band using this tutorial for a twirly skirt with a band starting here. I love how neat and easy it was to sew although I did topstitch.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Fini on April 24, 2008 at 6:59 am

    super cute,..but uh dont forget to IRON!:)LOL

    Reply

  2. Posted by plslade on April 24, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    oh this is so adorable! I want to get out my sewing machine SO BAD, but I have all sorts of other projects going on right now. I’m not too well at multi-tasking. LOL! I’d LOVE to make this dress about knee length for a casual summery dress… perfect for those hot hot days when shorts are even too hot. I love the linen-look too: do you have to use any different needles? I’ve never sewn linen before…

    Reply

  3. […] April 24, 2008 by plslade i MUST make one of these dresses… […]

    Reply

  4. Posted by plslade on April 24, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    aaaaahhhhh… now the pattern is sold out! Do you think I can get it from Hancock? It’s made by Simplicity…

    Reply

  5. Posted by Lori on April 24, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    I want to see your smiling face in these photos too…what is a dress, without a head??? 🙂

    Have a great day!
    Lori

    Reply

  6. So cute! I love the dress. I’m jealous that you had to TAKE IT IN to make it fit! 🙂
    -Kathy

    Reply

  7. Posted by seemommysew on April 25, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    So pretty! I love the blue and brown together. I think brown and almost anything are my favorites right now 🙂

    Reply

  8. Good job – I really love brown clothes these days.

    I’m yet to try out my bias tape maker, though. I’ve noticed that I seem to have to leave things gathering dust for a year before I can get up the courage to use them, no matter how simple they seem…

    Reply

  9. i’m just now discovering your blog, and loving it! i’ll be back often. 🙂 i LOVE this dress you made! – shelley, waldorfmama.com

    Reply

  10. Gorgeous! I love the brown/blue combo. It looks great on you!

    Reply

  11. It came out very nice. I like the color combo and the pattern. Where do you buy your linen? I’m looking for a good source.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

