New Hobby

I hit 35 last week and didn’t have my sewing machine (in the shop for it’s yearly check-up) so what’s a girl to do?  Why not start a new hobby?

My New Hobby

This is my newest baby- a La Patrie Etude classical guitar. I researched guitars for days before deciding on a classical, nylon-string guitar versus an acoustic, steel-string guitar. I found this beauty with a hard case on CL and snapped it up.

Since I have no musical background whatsoever, I decided to teach myself the basics before taking lessons. So far I have down notes E, F and G and my left index finger is SORE. (I’m glad I didn’t go with a steel string guitar!) I’m using these books to get me started and can pretty much follow it easily. I’m having a blast, but with 2 time consuming hobbies and 3 kids, you can bet my house is a disaster and the laundry pile has turned into a mountain.

I played my first song (all on one string) for Chris last night. It was wonderful sitting on our deck, a gin & tonic within reach, tiki torches lit, strumming my guitar.  Having music in one’s life is more important than a clean house in my book.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Rock on Villager, Rock on.

    Reply

  2. That’s awesome! What a great way to ring in another b-day.

    Reply

  3. Drinks and tiki torches – my kind of living.

    (We have a few guitars and my meager attempts to play have left my fingers sore too. Greg always says that if I played MORE I’d get calluses but I just never get that far. I know you will wow us.)

    Happy belated birthday too.

    Reply

  4. Posted by paperseed on May 17, 2008 at 3:15 am

    Happy Birthday!

    Good luck on your new hobby. I took guitar lessons years ago and then again at the local rec center this winter, but for some reason I stopped again after classes ended. The guitar is so beautiful and versatile.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Lori on May 17, 2008 at 5:19 am

    Oh, I like a clean house…and music, that’s why I got my first i-Pod! I loved listening to it all week, especially on an afternoon Caden was napping and Austin was at school while I cleaned! To each our own! 🙂 (oh, but I can play instruments too…it’s fun!)

    Reply

  6. Posted by kat on May 18, 2008 at 1:43 am

    learning to play the guitar is on my wish list too.

    for now i’ll have to settle for being wretched on ‘guitar hero.’

    good luck, & happy birthday!

    Reply

  7. I am not a ‘shrummer but enjoyed some morels my mom found in the yard while she almost ran them over with the mower. I enjoy your blog. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  8. Posted by scot on September 23, 2010 at 11:19 pm

    so how much did you pay for it used ,is 180 sound good tax included ,canadan?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

