Deceptive Dots

So I started this lovely dress a month ago. After this success, I thought I could conquer Simplicity 9784 with ease. NOT. In reality, it had nothing to do with the pattern. It was entirely me.
I was trying too many new things: piping inserted on the collar, working with corduroy, adjusting the size since the pattern only went up to 18 mos and I was going for a 2T. Also, I’ve said this before, but I can’t read. After ripping out the same step at least 5 times, I asked Chris what he thought the step was instructing. Duh! I was missing a whole pattern piece and didn’t realize it.
Anyway, I finally finished the dress today and it’s a little short, but it works.

Polka Dot Dress

I found this material at Mill End here in Beaverton and had to have it. I love polka dots!

Polka Dot Dress

The collar was a little tough to sew because I was trying to sew two pieces of thick corduroy with piping inserted along a curve. Curves alone throw me off and adding the other two issues really took some patience. I love the look of piping though and will be trying this again.

Collar

(Sorry to insist, but you gotta see what my little princess wears under such a dress.)

Also, after reading this article, I *really* want to try pleats. Something straight, cotton, tank, square-neck with nice crisp pleats is on my must do list.
But first, I still have to finish Fini’s April b-day presents- yikes. Sorry Fini!

19 responses to this post.

  1. Looks great and I love the big polka dots!

    Reply

  2. Adorable! I love love love corduroy- and autobots too.

    Reply

  3. I’ve totally been thinking about piping. You did great!

    Reply

  4. That is just too cute for words! Great job.

    Reply

  5. Posted by plslade on May 30, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    Such a sweet dress! Hey, if it gets too short by the end of the fall, she can wear it with a cute little pair of leggins and add a little cardigan over the top. We’re all about layering and re-wearing our dresses season after season. Good Job.

    Reply

  6. As a beginning sewer, I know the feeling. After finishing one project that looks great I am ready to take on the world and then go thru the same “What am I supposed to do” feeling with the next one. The dress turned out great and super cute in spite of all the trouble.

    Reply

  7. I love this fabric! and I love what you did with it. I am going to call that store and try to get a yard of it. I love polka dots too!
    Your daughter is beautiful btw.

    Reply

  8. i’m not usually a dot fan, but that fabric is great. it definitely goes well with her choice of undershirt 😉
    ~peace.

    Reply

  9. It turned out great. Really cute!

    Reply

  10. OMG! This is adorable!

    Reply

  11. Posted by paperseed on June 5, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    Such cuteness!

    Reply

  12. Posted by Fini on June 5, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    I never noticed this post up! I love love love this dress. Make one for me-oh-my(amai) please!

    Reply

  13. Irene, the dress is so cute! And so is Ms. O. I think you did a fabulous job. I can’t sew curves either but you did a much better job than I ever could.
    -Kathy

    Reply

  14. That is just so adorable- and so well made, well done you!

    Reply

  15. Posted by wondermommy on June 12, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    That’s a cute dress! You did such a great job.

    Reply

  16. That dress is really cute. I love working with corduroy too and I just found a great article on using corduroy at the Threads website,
    http://www.taunton.com/threads/pages/t00229.asp They have some great tips, I especially like the idea of shaving the seams!

    Reply

  17. Posted by goodgrac on June 14, 2008 at 7:28 am

    I love that corduroy fabric! And that is a beautiful dress. There’s no way I’m up to piping. Maybe one day, one day …!

    Reply

  18. I love this! Cutest dress I’ve seen in a long, long time – that fabric is yummy!

    Reply

  19. Gorgeous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

