Saving the Singer

My New Oldie

Grandma had this oldie in a Goodwill pile, but I quickly stole it. Isn’t she beautiful? A machine like this deserves a name. How does Sally sound? Wonderful! Sally it is…

I tried to sew on Sally a few month’s ago, but she smelt like burnt rubber. I put her away because I figured she needed a tune-up and I couldn’t justify the expense when I had another machine to sew on. I took Sally out again last week because of a large project which requires me sew through many layers of home dec fabric. I think it’ll wear my Janome out too fast, but Sally should have no problem.

My aunt told me that for the older, all metal machines, you can pretty much tune it up yourself. I bought some oil specifically for sewing machines at my local grocery store and had Chris oil the parts he thought needed it. Voilá , it works! In fact, it was very clean and was probably tuned-up up years ago and never used much.

I was even able to buy a manual for it online here for $10 and had it downloaded less than 30 minutes later. Now I know what all the gadgets and levers are for- cool! She’s loud, but she’s a work horse and I love her. Thank you Grandma for saving her all these years!

*********************

Thank you to Sew Mama Sew! for encouraging me to write a tutorial for the grocery bags/totes I’ve been sewing. It’s up on their blog so check it out if you have a minute. And since I’m their Forum hostess, if you have any questions regarding the tutorial, please post it there and I’ll be sure to answer quickly. Also, July is Summer Sewing month so check back often for many great projects and ideas. I can’t wait!

Oh, and thanks to Craft for picking up my Tote tutorial as well.  Woohoo!

9 responses to this post.

  1. sally is gorgeous!!!!

    i’m aching to adopt an older sister for sewlie. of course the two my mother begged me to adopt during my angry, misspent youth would have been perfect. *sigh* if only i had a ‘time turner.’

    Reply

  2. I need one of those “time turners”, too. Regrets are the pits.

    Congrats on your new old machine. I’ve got my mom’s first and am so thankful to have it.

    Reply

  3. I was given an ancient singer on freecycle. I’ve been too nervous to see if it will work, yet: one day I’ll plug it in!

    Reply

  4. Sally – Great name. just discovered your blog, I’m loving your sewing. I use a Singer Stylist also. I have a question, I’d like to make a simple little not bulky with lining (2 “toned” would be cute) drawstring bag for my camera. Can you direct me? Thanks!!!

    Reply

  5. How wonderful for you! Give you grandmother a big ol’ kiss!

    Reply

  6. Sally is a beauty! Can’t wait to check your tutorial out!
    Sarah

    Reply

  7. Posted by Michelle on August 2, 2008 at 3:15 am

    Just read the tote bag tutorial, and I think that’s the 1st time I’ve seen someone explain a french seam in a way that made sense to me. so now I will have to try the tote!

    Reply

  8. Posted by rosewillow on November 12, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    I loved reading about your Sally. A Singer Stylist is truly a classic machine. You have a real treasure. Glad to hear the two of you are getting along so well! Happy Sewing!

    Reply

  9. […] is Back February 23, 2009 at 9:27 pm | In Day to day | As some of you know from a past post, I love these old machines.  Meet my newest love, Singer […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

