Freshness

I think July has to be one of the best months to live in the NW. You have your pick of fresh foods from cherries loaded on dwarf trees which my littlest can reach to every berry you can imagine to the best veggies nobody can resist.

Loaded Trees

Last week we picked Ranier, Bing and Van cherries and brought home over 50 pounds. Since then, we’ve made 4 cherry pies (don’t worry- we gave all but one away), 3 batches of cherry freezer jam, cherry crisp (not the tastiest recipe, but it worked) and cherry clafoutis (CLA-foo-tea). I didn’t use Alicia’s recipe, but used one from our favorite French cookbook. Chris loves this book and has tried many recipes and *all* of them have been superb.

The Boys' Bounty

This week we hit one farm and came home with marionberries, boysenberries, raspberries, and blueberries. I have enough for at least 5 pies (pre-measured in baggies) and enough for pancakes, muffins, crepes and snacking. These frozen bags of goodness help us get through all those rainy winter months. We also grabbed some snow peas, beets (my favorite), and pole beans. Morning Shade Farm is wonderful because they have it all! I was mad I had just bought a gigantic jar of honey from Costco because the farm had fresh honey too! Chris even gave the kids a quick honeybee lesson because the hives were next to the berries and we all got a chance to sit and watch them work. It was a great day.

I plan on hitting the farm again next week and stocking up on more of the summer’s harvest because before I know it, fall will be here. We’re going to enjoy every bit of our NW’s freshness in the meantime!

8 responses to this post.

  1. You had me at clafoutis. Those are the best looking cherries I have ever seen!

    Reply

  2. My aunt and uncle used to keep bees and made the best honey I have ever tasted. I have never found another honey that compares…

    There aren’t many farms near here, unfortunately. That’s one of the things I miss most about home.

    Reply

  3. Those rainier cherries on the vine are breathtaking. Where did you go for the cherries? And how did the freezer jam turn out?

    Reply

  4. Did you really take that photo around here? I know it’s been warm lately, but that looks like it was taken in some fabulous tropical locale! (Your cherry recipes all sound wonderful.)

    Reply

  5. How wonderful! I would love to pick a bunch. I can smell your cherry pies from here.

    Reply

  6. Wow! Look at those cherries!

    By the way, I nominated you for an award on my blog!

    Reply

  7. Wow, wow, wow is all I can say. Lucky you! I wish there were many good farms like that around here!

    Reply

  8. Posted by paperseed on July 30, 2008 at 4:04 am

    Holy cow – 50 pounds! I gotta go get me some of those!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

