Finally, Something for Dad

I had planned on making everyone pj pants for Christmas. Well, that came and went and so did Spring and most of summer. But before Fall comes, I swore that I would get the pants done. And I did!

More Pants

This is the first thing I’ve sewn for Chris besides the mushroom bags. I was able to make him 2 pairs- this one with fish and another with planets on a black background. I used Simplicity 9871, but had to trim about an inch off the sides and waist. The pattern is WIDE with a long waist so be aware. You need alot of fabric- almost 3 yards for each pair so I’m not sure if I’ll make him more for some time.

I couldn’t stop with pj’s only for daddy so I made these for the kids:

PJ Pants

I LOVE these and love that they all match! The dinosaur fabric is cotton and made by Timeless Treasures and the trim I just found while here on vacation. I wish I would have bought much more than just a yard. It’s a Robert Kaufman print designed by Amy Schimier. I don’t think I’ve heard of her before, but I really like this design and will be looking out for more of her stuff. The trim is a little long for Ms O, but she likes it.

The pattern for the kids’ pants is loosely based on Simplicity 4206. Earlier this summer, I made the boys some boxer shorts and didn’t have a pattern for boxers so I used this pattern for girls’ shorts. I copied the pattern onto freezer paper, cut it out, ironed it onto the fabric, sewed up a pair and fitted it on the boys. After testing the fit, I made adjustments on the freezer paper for later use. (You can usually iron the freezer paper on 5-6 times before it looses it’s stickiness. It’s well worth not having it pin!)

So for the pants, I used my same freezer paper pattern, but added the length needed for each boy. Since Ms O is so much smaller than her brothers, (she’s 2 and her brothers are 6 and 4) I had to adjust the pattern even more simply by taking off 1 ½” off of the sides and waist. And voilà- they’re done and they fit!

5 pants in 2 days- not a bad vacation.

(I learned ALOT about pants while making these, but I will save those tips for another post. I need to get outside.)

7 responses to this post.

  1. Adorable pj pants!

    Reply

  2. wow that’s such a good job you did! love that they all mach! lovely fabric too!

    Reply

  3. These pants are so cute, i love the dinosaurs.

    Reply

  4. Posted by paperseed on August 11, 2008 at 2:34 am

    Awesome! Love the matching – very cute!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Fini on August 11, 2008 at 10:32 am

    I love chris’s fishy pants! Those would be good for someone else for xmas dont you think. The kids ones are super too:)

    Reply

  6. Posted by mrscjallen on August 11, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    The kids pants are super cute! Makes me want to try my hand at something like this for my niece and nephew for Christmas.

    Reply

  7. The PJ pants look wonderful!

    I just found your blog and am enjoying it a lot 🙂 I’m also from the Northwest.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

