Enough

Will I ever have enough fabric?

Latest Purchase

While out of town last week, I bought this stack at this store. I brought it home washed, folded and ready to be put away. HA!

There wasn’t *any* way I could shove one more yard of anything into my fabric armoire. It was time for a major clean-up!

While folding my stash, I realized that I had forgotten about many pieces I had bought over the last few months. These were bought, washed and thrown in a pile somewhere around my dinning room table- aka sewing studio. (Those who know me well are laughing because there are MANY piles around my dinning room table as well as on top and behind.) I kept thinking that I had way too much fabric. I was embarrassed and a little ashamed at the stacks I had accumulated this past year. I felt a little overwhelmed and mad at myself for my latest purchase.

My sisters come over and marvel at my fabric stash. Chris shakes his head as he passes by. My kids can build forts in every room of the house with the yards I have.

Any yet…

Yesterday I wanted to make a doorway “curtain” for my front door since it’s propped open pretty much every day that it’s not raining. (I don’t have a screen door and I wanted something that keeps people from seeing straight into my house.) I go to my stash and look for *the* fabric which could be sewn for this project. Heck, I thought, this will be eeeeasy to find something to fit. I didn’t need much- just enough for two pieces to hang straight from the top of the door frame to about chest level. Chris had already installed the rod so everything was ready to go.

But…

Nothing! I have nothin’ that I would want hanging for the world to see as they walk or drive by. I searched and searched. I wanted something which reflects us as a family. I wanted something hip, modern, breezy and earthy.

Still nothing can be found. I will have to brave the heat tomorrow and search for just the right fabric. But really, I must say that this case is not unusual. I’m always looking for that certain fabric design which will create something that looks exactly the way I imagined. I believe that the fabric can truly make or brake what you’re sewing. Please, choose fabric wisely. Take the time to get it right and you’ll never regret it.

So- the next time the lady working at the Stitchin Post who recognizes me and thinks I LIVE in Sisters because I’m there “buying fabric all the time” asks if I need anything else- I just might say, “Why yes, of course I need something else”, because that next yard might be *the* right piece of fabric. šŸ˜‰

~~~~~~~~~~

BTW, in a post soon:
I haven’t forgotten to pass on my pants tips, but I also want to tell you more about this latest sewing fiasco and this finished one.

And lastly, you MUST check out this sewing room.

Have a great weekend!

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Fini on August 16, 2008 at 8:43 am

    I still remember your single tub of fabric! More for me to go through when I’m there!!Hee hee!!

    Reply

  2. I understand completely.

    Hello, My name is Judy.
    I am a fabric addict.

    šŸ˜€

    You are not alone.

    I can never find the “right” piece in my stash and am ever in persuit of it. šŸ˜€

    Reply

  3. I did wonder if I was going to the fabric store too often, when they started saying things like ‘no kids with you today, then?’…

    Reply

  4. Will we ever have enough fabric? NO!

    šŸ˜€ Good luck with finding the right one for your curtains!

    Reply

  5. Posted by gabrien on August 18, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    Check out this group on flickr for some sewing room organization tips http://www.flickr.com/groups/operation_sewing_room_organization/pool/

    My kids are currently using fat quarters to make beds for their cars (?) In fact almost all of their games involve fabric in one way or another.

    You just can’t have too much in your stash–for many many reasons.

    Reply

  6. My hordes speak to other crafty goodness: a billion beads, stuffings, papercrafts and pens galore.

    Funny how they find their way here.

    Reply

  7. So funny! I have that same fabric problem… Never enough!
    missy

    Reply

  8. My name is Ellen and I am a fabric addict. I worked at a fabric store for about 4 years before I had my baby girl. You wouldn’t believe my stash. I’ve given boxes away and still have tons. I could never let a decent remnant pass me by …or a good sale. I still buy more when I see Amy Butler’s new designs.

    Reply

  9. […] Okay, they are a little funky and people still can’t get over why I have curtains hanging in my doorway, but I think they are wonderful.Ā  These flutter in the wind, bring cheer to my doorway, and keep the peepers from peeking just as I imagined they would. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

