Got Babies?

There was a baby void for awhile where I wished there was a baby around.  I had all these great patterns and fabric just waiting to be made into something for a little one.  It seemed like everyone was done having babies.

Baby Outfits

Then the baby bug hit and now I have three little lovelies to sew for.  I quickly whipped up some flannel blankets and a couple outfits.

Onesie Detail

I’ve heard people mention that appliqueing onesies are a pain. I think the trick with these is that you *must* keep it simple.  The owl is a very simple shape without too many corners or turns.  The elephant is appliqued to the square patch first then only the patch is stitched onto the onesie.  This keeps the actual onesie applique simple, but you are allowed to have a more complicated design.

Another important detail is to use a heat-n-bond type adhesive between the applique and onesie.  I love Heat-n-Bond Lite.  I get the big 5 yard roll in the store for about $7 and it lasts about a year.  There’s directions on the back of the package, but basically you draw your design onto the paper-side of the adhesive, iron it onto the wrong-side of your applique, cut it out, peel the paper off, iron it onto your onesie and sew.

Tips:

~ Remember to reverse your design!  Since you will be ironing it onto the wrong-side of your fabric applique then ironing it onto your onesie with the fabric right-side up, your design has to be reversed.

~ Do not cut out your design until you iron it onto your applique.  I cut a piece of heat-n-bond large enough to fit my design, and cut the same size piece out of the fabric I will use for my applique.  I then draw my design onto the paper-side of the heat-n-bond.  Next, I iron the heat-n-bond onto the wrong-side of the fabric with the paper-side up and cut both at the same time.  It’s easier to handle with both adhered together and you only have to cut out your design once!

~ After ironing, don’t work with your applique until it has cooled a little.  I’ve found that the bond doesn’t adhere correctly if handled while hot.  I then have to re-iron to get the “bond” stuff to stay on the fabric.

~ My favorite zig-zag stitch for appliques is 2.5 for stitch width and .8 for stitch length.  This gives you a nice neat stitch without being too heavy for the thin onesie.

~ Some people recommend using a stabilizer for the underside of the onesie.  I have never used it because I feel the less bulk the better.

That’s all I can remember for now.  Here are some other tutorials for the same type of applique technique: Design on Post and Shim & Sons.

Hope this helps, but let me know if you have any questions.

******

P.S – Check out these two sewing ladies and their cute stuff!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Adorable!

    Reply

  2. Thanks for the mention! I love appliqueing. It’s also great for covering up stains or dorky logos and getting more wear out of clothes! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Love those teeth. Excellent, Irene.

    Reply

  4. Posted by paperseed on October 15, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    Cute sets and great tips!

    Reply

  5. […] wanted to do a fun applique bag for them and this was my chance. After reading my sister’s applique post I had to do […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

