Weekends

I love weekends.  I sleep in, eat too much, let my house pile up around me and usually sew a ton.

Beach Ride

This weekend was a little different.  We’ve just about made this weekend an annual October event at the beach.  As I said last time, it’s not the best time of year to be at the beach, but we lucked out and scored one night in a yurt.

Yurt at Fort Stevens

I LOVE these things! They are equipped with a bunk bed and a fold-out futon, table, chairs, lights, and a heater.  We left Portland at 5pm, checked-in at 7pm, and headed out razor clamming at 8pm.  After a long, very wet and windy night clamming, we were able to warm up in our little yurt with some hot cocoa and a dry bed.  Aaaah.

You have to reserve these things way early, (the reservations open up 6 months prior and you have to reverse it fast!), but at $30/night, it’s well worth it.  We only had the yurt for one night, but it happened to be the only rainy day of the whole weekend.  The next night was spent in our little tent and I loved sleeping while surrounded by our kids.

Ms O & Dad

We had a great time and came home with not only 60+ razor clams, but a few porcini’s as well. But, you’ll have to wait for my mushroom post tomorrow.

I just know you all are dying with excitement!

5 responses to this post.

  1. That first photo is faboo!

    Reply

  2. That picture out the window? Love it!

    Glad you had a good trip. It’s nice to get out of town sometimes.

    ox

    Reply

  3. Posted by paperseed on October 21, 2008 at 12:09 am

    Have to sound off about that first photo, too. So darling!

    We also were at the beach this weekend. It is definitely mushroom season, except my last post was about all the chanterelles we collected. That is a huge porcini your son is holding!

    I have never dug for razor clams, but I hope to some day.

    Reply

  4. Posted by eatfruit on October 21, 2008 at 3:48 am

    30 bucks! WOW! I think we paid over a 100 bucks a night to stay in a yurt this summer. What a steal! Ours also had an attached deck, I thought that was wonderful.

    Reply

  5. Posted by hillfini on October 21, 2008 at 8:06 am

    love your new header and of course that first and last picture! How great is that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

