Phew

Three Bridesmaids Dresses Done!

(Pattern is Simplicity 6644)

Three bridesmaid dresses made by ME!  I can’t believe it myself, but they are done and I am a very happy lady.  I’m not sure if I’d do them again, but I learned ALOT:

1. Fabric that doesn’t seem like it can stretch – CAN! You have to follow those darn arrows on the pattern. They actually mean something! (Which is that you must line up the arrow so that it is parallel to the selvage- um, yah, just like it says to do on the pattern layout. Duh.)

2. Trust yourself. Yes, you can adjust a pattern to fit everyone. It really isn’t rocket-science people. Those pattern makers are not Gods so just go for it! (I had to adjust the pattern for the largest girl in the picture. I got it to fit even though the largest pattern size was 7″ too small! And folks, I did it all with a ruler, freezer paper and my bright kitchen floor.)

3. Learn to use your blind hem foot. This is the newest foot I’ve tried and I love it! It makes those hems that all you see is a small tack every inch or so. It looks so professional!

4. GET A SERGER. Seriously. It moves up your sewing to a whole new level. (I found one of CL for $200- more on that later.)

5.  Basting is your friend.

That’s about it.  Now onto a little one’s quilt that was promised 6 months ago.

7 responses to this post.

  1. wow! well done 🙂

    Reply

  2. You did a great job! Very professional. I’ve made a few dresses like this in the past and find I can’t handle the stress anymore. I prefer flowergirls with less challenging figures. I may try the blind hem next time. My mother always told me to do the hemming by hand!

    Reply

  3. Wow, they look great!

    I can’t even imagine making three dresses for one event much less adjusting the pattern. I have a hard enough time just making things fit for me.

    Reply

  4. I bow to you, Sensei. Beautful.

    Reply

  5. To me it is rocket science! Maybe that science teacher helped you over there. But you did an SUPERB job! The girls are too lucky they have you for a neighbor;)

    Reply

  6. I’m so impressed. Aren’t you? Hats off to the master.

    Reply

  7. Wow. Good job. Serious talent and guts to make bridesmaids dresses! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

