Burda

Burda- to the point, stylish, no frills, classic, and best of all- perfect sizing.

Burda 9644

Burda 9644 will be sewn over and over again.  I absolutely love this dress.

I love the perfectly fitted neckline which lies nicely against Ms O’s neck.  It’s not gathered or covered in bias tape.  It’s a simple yoke with a little interfacing and a facing.

Burda 9644

I think I like facings.  I never thought I’d say that since I could not understand why you had to cut out another piece of fabric when you won’t even see it.  I’ve discovered that a facing is a simple way to get that neat edge and nice fit with out alot of junk.

Burda 9644

And the tiers-  although it takes a little more time to cut out 4 layers of skirt and gather it all- it’s worth it.  I’m lucky in that my gathering foot works really well and I’ve learned how to control the amount of gathers.  It takes a tiny bit of practice, but I did it and you can too.

And lastly, did you noticed that Ms O’s head isn’t in any of the pictures?  Well, I had to sneak one in because she just got a new, mommy-cut hairdo…

Sheared!

I must say that I think she looks more adorable now.  It still gets a little wild in the morning, but short hair on little girls is the way to go.  No more cringing from the hairbrush or dictating how many ponytails she wants today.  A couple barrets and we’re good to go.

So, go out and try a Burda pattern and cut that hair!  You won’t regret it.

19 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Beth on February 10, 2009 at 6:17 am

    Oh my gosh, Irene– This is so darling… Oh, to have a little girl to sew for some day!– I love it!

    Reply

  2. Crisp and classic when you don’t have bias tape. I am biased against bias tape, we were never friends, depsite what it claims.

    Your babes get cuter and cuter everytime you post a picture!

    Reply

  3. Posted by eatfruit on February 10, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    Maren would fall over for this dress. Love your fabric choice as well.

    Reply

  4. I love the dress, but her little haircut? I REALLY love it. She’s darling.

    Reply

  5. Hi! I don’t know how I found you but I love all your projects! This dress pattern is just what I have been looking for!! So thank you for finding it! Love the fabric too! Good job! I’d love to make one for my girls and maybe add a fabric sash. I just purchased a gathering foot. Any suggestions or tips to add using it with this pattern?

    amy:)

    P.s. good job on the cut! impressive! 😉

    Reply

  6. The dress is just lovely. I don’t think I could manage gathers like that, no matter what you say.

    My daughter has short hair (mainly because she keeps giving herself haircuts), but barettes aren’t working: everytime she goes anywhere with a barette in her hair, she returns without it. I’m starting to consider super glue…

    Reply

  7. Her haircut is so cute! I just love it! Good job Mom! And the dress is adorable, good fabric choice. 🙂
    -Kathy

    Reply

  8. Posted by fini on February 11, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    I love that dress! Very cute. Was that the fabric you bought when I was there? It looks darker. Love her hair too;)

    Reply

  9. Posted by paperseed on February 13, 2009 at 1:24 am

    That is adorable! Love the fabric choice, especially. I envy your sewing skills… and haircutting skill!

    Reply

  10. Stopping by via Sew Mama Sew, and I have to say the dress is just beautiful! I’ve been searching for a good one for my little girl for quite awhile now – I’ll have to give this pattern a whirl. I also love the tiered twirly skirt, too. Lovely fabrics; nice job!

    Reply

  11. the hair is too cute!

    Reply

  12. I love that dress! I think the haircut looks good on her too.

    Reply

  13. I’m here from SewMamaSew also. Great hat tutorial. I had to weigh in on the hair cut… my 2 year old is a hair twirler and ends up with huge knots in her hair. Last night she started screaming in her crib and I went in there and she said “Hair stuck Mama.” Her fingertip was stuck in her hair and actually turning blue from twirling her hair! We are trying ponytails all of the time now to see if it will fix the problem, but otherwise we’ll have to go with the short do too. Seeing your daughter’s lovely hair makes me feel a tiny bit better about thinking of cutting my daughter’s!

    Off to browse your archives!

    Reply

  14. Posted by Lori on February 23, 2009 at 3:36 am

    So, I must ask…has Mommy cut her hair yet?? 🙂

    Reply

  15. What a darling dress. Thanks for stopping by my site. I have enjoyed looking through yours! Your daughter’s hair is so cute!!!

    Reply

  16. I LOVE this dress and am thrilled I found your blog via sew mamma sew. I found the Burda pattern on Ebay and bought some fabric yesterday to make this dress. I am keeping my fingers crossed that it is in my mailbox today. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Reply

  17. I really love the dress! I think this might make a nice grown up dress (with a few adjustments, of course). I wish a had a little girl to sew for! Alas, I have just a little boy, for whom I find it VERY difficult to find cute patterns! You’re little girl’s hair is too cute, too!
    BTW I did see the Eddie cap, and I think I might try it out!

    Reply

  18. I LOVE this dress! I’m just wondering if I can turn it into a size 8-10. . .

    Thank you for the post. I’ve been inspired.

    Reply

  19. […] I did make this Burda dress again, but you know how much I love this dress.  I will make sleeves for something this cute.  […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

