Oh Ottobre

G and I have been freakin’ out over this design mag.  There’s so much packed into each one.  From the patterns (usually 30 or so), to the many photo examples and sewing tips.  We have fallen in love with these Finnish folk.

Ottobre Bermudas

While up at the Sewing & Stitchery Expo back in March, I thought I got suckered into spending $70 for a magazine subscription that I wasn’t sure I would even like. I had been thinking about a subscription to a sewing magazine for some time, but I was never sure which one to spend the dough on.  They are spendy!

Fronts

Turns out this was the best money I’ve spent in a long time!  I did order both the womens and kids which is why it was so much, but I don’t regret it ONE BIT.  I ordered my subscription from here while up at the Expo, and I’m very pleased how fast I received my first one.  Now, with that said, I can’t guarentee the same for you if you decide.  G ordered hers three weeks ago and still has not received her first magazine yet. (I’ve already received this seasons’.)  She’s been borrowing mine for the time being and has studied it down to the children’s eye shape.  (Sorry G, had to sneak that in!)  You could also order it directly from the Ottobre site.

Front pockets

So the shorts were made from the latest Summer ’09 magazine.  They are “Bermudas” and Eddie picked out the fabric which was on sale for super cheap. The bad part is that a lot of the great detail which drew me to this pattern is lost due to all the darn patchwork.

Front and Back

I love the mock fly which makes these look a little less homemade than the usual ones I make.  I also like all the pockets.  I did not like sewing the elastic in place instead of a casing.  It was really hard to stretch and sew, but I think that may have been due to the elastic I was using- some thrift store find. Yuck. The pattern calls for belt loops and also a tie, but I opted out.  These took me way too long to sew as it was with 4 pockets per pair, mock fly and all the topstitching.

Now that I’ve got the pattern for each boy traced and cut out with my adjustments, another pair should be alot faster to whip out.  Hopefully with fabric that’s not so busy next time!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by g on April 30, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    G here- They look great! I think it’s good to get to know a pattern with busy cheap fabric first. And besides, it’s what the boys wanted and they are cool and light for summer. Keep it up!

    Reply

  2. These are too good! I want to make KK one now out of that patchwork fabric we bought while I was there. Too cool. Plus I love the saw layout…very green:)

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lori on May 6, 2009 at 3:47 am

    Super cute – lots of work there, I can see! I was just sewing up a craft today for Mother’s Day gifts…and all the topstitching can be so time consuming! I’m a fast sewer, and like things to get done! 🙂 Looks great!

    Reply

  4. Absolutely gorgeous, such fun looking shorts!

    Reply

  5. those are some seriously fun shorts. 🙂 i am big ottobre fan too.

    Reply

  6. Ooo – I just love Ottobre, the best kids clothes sewing magazine ever (In my humble opinion). Those shorts look great.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

