The Secret is Out

Singer 15-91

If you want to know what to look for and how to purchase your very own vintage machine, take a look here at my article I wrote for SewMamaSew.

Now, don’t you all go running out snapping up all the good deals!  Nah- just joking…  but seriously, these beauties can be found just about anywhere and often for under $50.  I bought three in the last year and never paid more than $50 including the table (although they all needed cleaning and new wiring).  So if you really want a great machine, keep your eyes peeled and enough cash to grab one when you spot it.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Have just acquired one and the same – in a very dusty and decrepit state from the very back of Granny’s packed to the rafters garage. So there may be hop, huh?!

    Reply

  2. I was given one off freecycle. The man didn’t know if it worked or anything, but once i got up the courage to plug it in (I had to prepare myself for heartbreak), it sounded perfect. It purrs.

    I have no clue how to thread it or anything yet, but at least it came with a manual. Now I just have to get up the courage to try it out.

    Reply

  3. Posted by ginger henkel on June 22, 2009 at 4:54 am

    I am so impressed by your writing about these marvelous machines. Hopefully more people will “save” and appreciate these beautiful and functional and durable and etc etc…….I can’t go on enough. Also these machines have been prize possessions of the original buyers and it breaks my heart that the “ancestors” do not give them the honor that is due….so….. good for you for promoting excellence,beauty,and function !!!!!!! Ginger…..( I just bought a pink one)…..esshhhh

    Reply

Leave a Reply

