1991 vs 2009

It’s been over 15 years since I have crocheted anything. In college, Chris dared me to crochet him a blanket thinking I did not have the patience to make one.  Well, I made him one, but I also totally burned out on crocheting.

1991 Afghan

This blanket is huge, heavy and really not very warm- I think it’s all those darn holes.  I mean, really?  Who wants a blanket that purposely has holes? I never understood the granny square.

Big Enough

And for sometime, it seemed like crocheting was so not cool.  It was something your Grandma did and you accepted the ugly blankets with a smile then tried your best to hide it when friends came over.  Terrible, wasn’t I?

Well, all that changed when I saw this lady’s awesome work last winter and I’ve been drooling over her stuff since.  This ripple and this hexagon are simply gorgeous!  The internet is amazing.  There are the coolest patterns everywhere and the best part is that most are free.  There’s step-by-step instructions with pictures, online shops to order yarn, and tons of pictures to inspire you.

2009 Afghan

So I started my own hexagon afghan over the 4th of July while attending our family reunion in Central Oregon. I think I had a few family members shaking their heads at what seems like an impossible task.  (Each hexagon takes me about 15 min to make and I think I’ll need over 200.) Yeah, it’ll take me months and months to finish, but I’m totally happy with it.  I love the colors and love that it’s a project I can take with me just about anywhere.  It’ll be prefect for the 3-week tennis camp the boys are starting soon.

Love this hook

I did have to go out and buy a new hook.  Hours of using a traditional hook was killing me.  This Colver Soft Touch hook is wonderful!  It hooks when you want it to, the yarn stays on until you want it off and it’s got a thick grip for easy handling. I recommend this hook to anyone.

So yes, after years of lying dormant, hooking is back in my life.  I want to jump into amigurumi next.  Isn’t it too cute?

7 responses to this post.

  1. That’s going to be so pretty when it’s finished!! I cross stitch so I know what it feels like to work on a project for months–but so worth it in the end!! Can’t wait to see the finished afghan.

    Reply

  2. I love the colours in your Hexy!

    Reply

  3. That’s it! That’s what I need to be doing while watching swimming lessons. I just wish crochet didn’t give me a sore wrist… maybe I’ll try again. We are ordering tie-dye supplies this week!

    Reply

  4. Posted by mommiemarzie on July 14, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    It’s awesome! I can’t wait to see the finished blanket!

    Reply

  5. Wonderful post, I love your hexagons!! Lately I am also completely “hooked” on crochet after years of not crocheting, so crochet is hip 😉 thanks to blogs as Attic24!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Len Williams on July 24, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    I also have a crochet blanket that’s big enough for my double bed all white and it’s warm. Even on top though that may have more with the weight essentially tucking in the lofted parts. But between solid covers it’s downright hot!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Len Williams on July 24, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    I should have said it was open-weave like yours but …..OH WELL!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

