XL

Summer 09 Skirt

I’m an XL girl.  Always have been.  So when looking at patterns, the models are always smaller.  I get excited and think I can totally sew that and it’s so cute.

Then I make it. Ugh.

Pleats

First of all, I did not read the pattern carefully.  The cherry fabric was to be the main panels of the skirt with the brighter fabric “peeking” through between the pleats.  After sewing the 10 panels together, I realized that I mis-understood the instructions.  Only 2″ of each panel would go into the pleat so my skirt would actually be striped! Yuck- not what I wanted at all.

At midnight, I called my sister in Hawaii for a chat and I started another skirt.  I decided on the circle skirt instead because while trying on the mistake skirt, I realized that adding all the bulky pleats to my body frame was not a good idea.

Summer 09 Skirt

It took me less than 3 hours from start to finish AND I was talking to Fini the entire time.  This is an easy skirt. The fabric is Valorie Wells’ Del Hi collection called Paisley Earth and is just gorgeous. (If you see it, buy as much as you can afford.  The fabric is luscious and high quality. You will never regret it.) I really hesitated cutting up.

I still don’t know if this skirt is something my body should be wearing, but oh well.  I have my Summer 09 skirt.  I’m happy.

It's a Circle!

Details:

– Pattern is 2 pieces: cut 4 of the ¼ circle piece and 2 of the waistband piece.

– All pieces are cut on the bias so it takes alot of fabric, but it hangs so nicely.

– This pattern runs big so start at your usual size or go down one.

The End.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by gabrien on August 4, 2009 at 2:48 am

    You did this last night? Looks great!

    Reply

  2. Beautiful! I might have to give this pattern a try too.

    Reply

  3. Just started reading your blog. I too am an xl girl, I find that I am in love with skirts and want to make a whole wardrobe of them. However, there are very few that work with my body frame. I am going to try the circle skirt 🙂 I LOVE the fabric you chose! Thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply

  4. Posted by LAURI on September 6, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    The skirt looks wonderful on you. You did a great job and need to wear it often.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

