Rotting My Brain

I’ve been watching alot of TV lately and I totally believe it rots your brain. I mean, I used to be productive. I used to whip out projects left and right. I would sew, read or just sleep. Then, we got Netflix.

My favorite hat

Now, I watch movies whenever I want. You can watch them on your computer or your TV. How genius is that?! Seriously though, I’m not going to go on and on about this, but man- I love it.

So, back to some things I do manage to get done:

Growing

My mushroom log has gown. We watched it grow amazingly fast. We would walk away for a couple hours and I swear there was noticeable growth when I returned. And the growth overnight was amazing.

Done!

We cooked them up as appetizers for some guests the other night along with some Shitake’s which were also grown on a log. It was so very yummy.

I’ve also managed to get alot done on my newest quilt:

Quilt Kit

I adore this quilt. I’ve been eying quilt kits for the longest time and finally broke down and bought one for mother’s day this year. Kits are nice, but I’m not sure if I’d buy them again. For me, it seems like it takes the originality out of a quilt. I thought I wanted a no-brain-er type quilt, but now that mine is almost done, I feel like I almost cheated. I still love my quilt, but I just don’t know if I would recommend buying a quilt kit.

(BTW- the kit I bought included the pattern and all the fabric for the quilt except the batting and backing which is what most kits include. You still have to make all the cuts for the blocks, but it takes the guess work out of the fabric choices.)

Next up is this tote I made many months ago. I wanted to share it because I use it 24/7.

Project Tote

It’s not my usual tote. This one is lined, interfaced and has pockets on the inside as well as outside. I bought all the fabrics used in this bag from Ikea and I must say that their cotton solids have a nice weight to them.

Inside

I’ve been using it by my bedside to keep everything from library books to my latest knitting project. The best part is that it easily comes with me. We are constantly takes little trips so this bag works well for the on-the-go project that I feel I always have to take with me so I don’t get bored.

And lastly some quick links that I have to share:

I just made these Fudge Babies tonight and man, they are awesome. You’ve got to try these simple, 4 ingredient, no baking desert. Even Chris liked them although he said they immediately made him think of Schweddy Balls.

I just discovered Made. And let’s just say that she is my hero.

I need to cram in a new hobby so I can make this, but also want to sew myself a really, really good pair of jeans and maybe huge leather wallet.

Anyone have any tips on sewing with leather?

*******

ps- The first photo of my favorite hat is a free pattern called Foliage by Emilee Mooney that I found on Ravelry. I made it with some luscious Malibrigo worsted yarn and the color is called Molly. I have more hats to share soon.

8 responses to this post.

  1. aw. Thanks for the little shout out! Your red hat is adorable. LOVE your tote. Great fabric choice. And that mushroom thing kinda scared me at first. Wasn’t sure what it was….but cool!
    Have a great day!
    – dana

    Reply

  2. Posted by sistersweightloss on November 13, 2009 at 8:43 am

    The mushroom thing scares me…
    the bag is perfect! OMG i so want one, the quilt is very cool-are you really watching tv? Cus I dont even watch TV and I dont do half that? Im confused…oh wait yea Im lazy!! Still the mushroom thing is scary.

    Reply

  3. 1. LOVE that tote! The fabric choice is perfect and I love the orange accent!
    2. Made is so cool!
    3. Thanks for the log update! I think I’m going to get one for my husband for his birthday next month! So fun.

    Reply

  4. Whoooooooaaaaaaa. I’ve neeeeeever seen a homegrown mushroom log before. Totally cool. I’m dying to know where you keep it . . . And life-changingly nifty tote, too.

    Reply

  5. Just wanted to follow-up with my previous comment that I did get my husband a mushroom log (brown oyster). We just got home from holiday vacation and he’ll be starting it soon. Looking forward to seeing the first sprouts – thanks for the great idea!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Amy on April 3, 2010 at 2:44 am

    Love the quilt…wondering about the kit. Was it put together at a local quilt store? Were all the fabrics all from one line? And one last pesky question…how big are the finished quilt squares?
    Thanks!

    Reply

    • Amy-
      Thanks. The quilt pattern is called Fortune Teller and all the fabrics are from the Floragraphix IV collection by Jason Yenter for In The Beginning fabrics. The finished block size is 8″ x 8″ and the finished quilt size is 65″ x 76″. All the fabric pieces were cut and put together by the Stitchin’ Post which is a small fabric store in Sisters, Oregon. They didn’t cut all the individual pieces to be pieced- just the yardage needed for the blocks. The pattern and fabric are all that was included in the kit. I bought the kit back in May 2009 so I’m not sure if it’s still around, but I’m sure you can find the pattern.

      Good luck!

      Reply

      • Posted by amy on April 9, 2010 at 4:26 pm

        Irene,
        While I would love to be able to zip on over to Sisters for a weekend, a six-week old babe kind of puts the kibosh on that, so I was so glad to find out on their website that you can order kits! I agree with you that, picking out fabrics is WAY more fun, but under my current circumstances, I’m going to sacrifice a little creative license and just focus on being able to make something fairly quickly (I have a niece getting married in June!).
        Thank you for your help.

Leave a comment