Disaster

Saturday was a great day.

I pick up Nana from Molalla with only Ms O in tow. I get a double tall espresso along with 18 eggs, milk and whole wheat flour while Nana was getting her hair trimmed next door. (Don’t you love the Starbucks cafe IN Safeway?) We then head over to the baby warehouse and I stock up on kiki’s, sippy cups, baby shampoo, (Yes- I still use Johnson’s on my kids so that they still have that baby smell. I love it.) and a cute little flower watering can for the bath. We pick up lunch for everyone and head home. An hour later, I meet with a cool grandpa who is writing his memoires of his world travels and work. I agree to try to decipher his handwriting and type it all up for him. (For a fee, of course. This mama has too much to do to work on 250 pages for free!) The meeting only takes a few minutes so with an hour of free time I head to the fabric store. Aaaaah, I’m revived. I head home to find my laundry put away, dinner on the stove and leftover curry just for me. I tell you, it was a good day.

Then Sunday came and it was a disaster.

It all started at 6:30am which is WAY too early for the weekend. I had to wake Nana, Eddie and Ms O so we could make it down to the train station in time to get Nana on her train to Seattle. (Chris and Augie were already up and out the door to the Duck Club to clean up decoys since the season is over. YIPEE!) So, I get everyone dressed and out the door and we send Nana off on her train. The kids and I then head on over to New Seasons for more groceries and breakfast. We get home at 9am and I put Ms O down for nap and Eddie in front of the TV. I had to sew. We were going to brunch to celebrate Grandma’s birthday in a couple hours and I didn’t have a gift yet. I had great ideas: a zippered wristlet and a heat sack for which I picked up flaxseed and lemongrass essesential oil earlier at the store.

I get to work:

Makings of a Heat Sac

Things are going good and I think I’ll get done in plenty of time.

Then disaster strikes.

First, as I was adding the 3 DROPS of oil, I accidentally spill about a TEASPOON into the flaxseed. I decide to use it anyway because maybe it won’t be as strong since I was using thick minky as the casing, and maybe Dorothy really likes lemongrass. As I’m filling up the bag, I spill flax seed all over my kitchen. If you’ve ever used flaxseed, you know how small the seeds are and that they can get into every crack and crevice. Then, I go to sew the opening closed and I spill the flaxseed AGAIN, but this time all over my sewing machine! Crap. I hate sewing with minky. Anyway, I get the thing closed and it doesn’t look pretty. Oh well. I stick it in the microwave to test it and WHAM- the scent is so strong, it makes me ill.

Forget that gift.

I get to work on the other gift thinking that an hour is plenty of time to get it done especially since this is like the 10th one I’ve made. Nope. It doesn’t work out either. After working on it and already re-doing the zipper once, I turn the bag for the final inspection, but then see that the strap is too long AND the zipper is sticking! At this point, it was too late to do anything else so we head off to brunch with no gift, no card and a bad attitude.

The rest of the day’s not much better, but I get some good food, a good nap and some time with the kids. I even fixed the wristlet, but am keeping the heat sack. When I’m in the need for some major citrus balm, I’ve got the perfect fix!

Gifts

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by paperseed on February 13, 2008 at 12:39 am

    Oh man, bad days suck, but they really help you to appreciate the good ones!

    Reply

  2. How disappointing. Sounds like you were sewing under a little too much pressure. Something I’ve been known to do myself. I now try to keep a couple of spare gifts around for those last minute occasions. What’s important is that you made the time to be with her for the celebration anyways.

    Reply

  3. Posted by mommiemarzie on February 13, 2008 at 3:02 am

    No fun! Moments like that can kill the whole day. Or make you not want to sew for a while. Hope the sewing/crafting gets better.

    Reply

  4. I would sing you a few lines from ‘Everybody has those days’ but Hannah Montana tends to only dampen adult spirits.

    Take care, Ms. Irene. You’re a gem.

    Reply

  5. […] this is mainly a sewing blog, but really I haven’t been doing much of it lately due to my typing work. (The book is almost done. I only have 3 more chapters to type. […]

    Reply

Leave a comment